How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Alicia_MSW Your Own Question

Alicia_MSW
Alicia_MSW, Psychotherapist
Category: Relationship
Satisfied Customers: 530
Experience:  Specializing in relationship/family counseling
65143460
Type Your Relationship Question Here...
Alicia_MSW is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Thanks, its helpful just to have a 2nd opinion..cuz now, the

Resolved Question:

Thanks, XXXXX XXXXX just to have a 2nd opinion..cuz now, the friend whom i moved in with, she even dont wana listen in on this.. that's why i feel it's even more not worth it...
do you mind if i could bring up some details and get your opinions on it?
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Relationship
Expert:  Alicia_MSW replied 2 years ago.
Hi again,

It's no problem. Please feel free to ask anything you'd like and I'll reply as soon as I can :)
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

 

that's great, & thanks for the prompt replies!

 

what do you think about reading horoscope daily and sort of rely on it for some kind of 'guidance'..

in fact, during the whole year after i moved, i relied on horoscope readings alot, read it almost everyday.. for sort of a life guide line, can you call it like a meditation or prayer.. and there's wisdom i learned from it, insights to myself..etc,

 

So the thing is, sometimes, i actually get really affected by the "Love" horoscope..

with this issue on my mind & trying to 'reconnect' with that guy; after not being able to meet up several times now...

Anyways, if sometimes, like the past weekend, if my 'love' horoscope would say something very positive, and if he happens to be in town, which is rare, and I don't end up "connecting' with him, I'd actually beat myself over not calling him up...

and when the 'love' horoscope is negative, then i'd be afraid to call him up or sth like that.... Gosh, it's becoming unhealthy now this situation with him... ><

cuz it's been a year now and i havn't been able to meet him & just talk things thru to help me move forward... and instead i'm kinda stuck...

How do you think i can stop letting the 'love' horoscope affect me, and just do what i want at the time....

 

 

 

Expert:  Alicia_MSW replied 2 years ago.
I think a lot of people rely on horoscopes and other forms of divination (like the tarot or the I Ching) for advice. Whether it's effective or not isn't something I can say, but if it helps you, I don't see anything wrong with it. Sometimes using tools like this can help you get in touch with your intuition and give you guidance, but how you use them is up to you. If it starts to interfere with your well-being and taking positive actions in your life, though, it can be detrimental, because it can prevent you from taking an action that you might have otherwise performed - such as trying to reconnect with the guy you're talking about. Instead of putting so much faith in the horoscope, maybe it's best to try to follow your own intuition about the situation. So, basically what that might mean is simply *not* reading your daily horoscope (even if it's a habit, you can unlearn this habit, too). You already have part of your answer when you say you just want to do what you want to do at the time. That's pretty much all you need to do - listen to what your heart is telling you, and follow your gut instinct. If you pay too much attention to your horoscope, then you might be drowning out your inner voice, your inner guidance system. Make a list of goals that you want to accomplish and start tackling them one at a time. This can help you get in touch what you really want to do. You might have to sit down and give it some thought at first, but it can be really helpful to do this. This way, you can still use the horoscope for fun or for advice at times when you really feel stuck, but you're not relying on it so much, and instead, you learn to rely more on yourself.
Alicia_MSW, Psychotherapist
Category: Relationship
Satisfied Customers: 530
Experience: Specializing in relationship/family counseling
Alicia_MSW and other Relationship Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
< Last | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
  • He answered my question promptly and gave me accurate, detailed information. If all of your experts are half as good, you have a great thing going here. Diane Dallas, TX
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Dear Debra

    Advice Columnist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1719
    I have been an Advice columnist for 14 years. My column is published weekly in local newpapers.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DE/deedeeham/2011-1-24_51523_408.64x64.JPG Dear Debra's Avatar

    Dear Debra

    Advice Columnist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1719
    I have been an Advice columnist for 14 years. My column is published weekly in local newpapers.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/formybunch/2010-12-06_191055_img_0975.jpg Kate McCoy's Avatar

    Kate McCoy

    Counselor

    Satisfied Customers:

    1235
    Over 20 years experience specializing in anxiety, depression, drug and alcohol, and relationship issues
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RE/resolutions66/2011-1-17_05728_IMG8202smilingeditedforJustAnswer.64x64.jpg Elliott, LPCC, NCC's Avatar

    Elliott, LPCC, NCC

    Psychotherapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1215
    35 years of experience as a Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor, National Certified Counselor and a college professor.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CO/CoachJenK/2012-3-9_31019_Jen.64x64.jpg Coach Jen K.'s Avatar

    Coach Jen K.

    LMSW, CPC

    Satisfied Customers:

    726
    Providing the utmost care and support.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/IN/intrapsyc.com/2012-2-20_161928_RGMTPicturex5002012.64x64.png Rafael M.T.Therapist's Avatar

    Rafael M.T.Therapist

    Psychotherapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    549
    MHT-MHRS-MS-MA Integral Psychotherapist & Life Coach
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/HU/hungryjack20/IMG_1281_edit_2.64x64.jpg Dr. L's Avatar

    Dr. L

    Psychologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    349
    Licensed as a Psychologist and Marriage & Family Therapist.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/SU/suzmsw/2011-9-2_184634_Thisone.64x64.JPG Suzanne's Avatar

    Suzanne

    Therapist, LCSW

    Satisfied Customers:

    338
    Experienced in treating trauma, relationship issues, co-dependency
 
 
 

Related Relationship Questions