In Texas, I have leased this apt. for only 3 months ( sold my home after 25 years). I am the only tenant on the lease. My adult son, who is mentally ill, has a felony convicton for assault and was just sentenced to probation. He could not qualify as a tenant because of this. The landlord says he must move out, and if he stays, I am in violation of the lease. What can I do? They have not given me any written notice. Are they required to? How much time can I have to move? I have paid all rent amounts due, but the costs of all this are killing me. What is my best course of action?
JA: Because real estate
law varies from place to place, can you tell me what state this is in?
Customer: Texas, as I said.
JA: Has any paperwork been filed in court? And what is your ideal outcome for the situation?
Customer: As I said, no written notice of any kind has been given. I applied to have my son added to the lease, and they denied it, and all this started. read it again. They told me by phone that I am in default on the lease, but no written notice of any kind has arrived. The ideal outcome is I stay here and my son stays with me, but not on the lease.
JA: Anything else you want the lawyer to know before I connect you?