y name is***** and I will be helping you with your question today. This is for informational purposes only and does not establish an attorney client relationship.
Georgia law does not require an eviction notice to be written. A landlord could orally tell a tenant that he/she will begin eviction proceedings against the tenant for not paying rent, unless the tenant moves out of the rental unit or pays the late rent.
The tenant has a few options when receiving an eviction notice:
1. The tenant can pay the rent and any associated late charges. The tenant can even pay rent up to seven days after receiving the paperwork for the eviction lawsuit. If the tenant pays the rent, the landlord must accept it and stop the eviction proceedings (see Ga. Code Ann. § 44-7-52).
2. The tenant can move out of the rental unit. If the tenant moves out of the rental unit but does not pay rent, the landlord can use the security deposit to cover the unpaid rent, or sue the tenant for the amount owed to the landlord.
3. If the tenant does not pay the rent and does not move out of the rental unit, then the landlord can file an affidavit with the court to begin the eviction process, or dispossessory proceeding.
Charging you the $3000 may be permissible depending on the reason. A security deposit would be the first thing that comes to mind. addition to the security deposit, the landlord may require an application fee, cleaning
fee, pet deposit, advance rent deposit, or other fees. Before paying any of these deposits or fees, a tenant should get in writing what the payment is for and under what terms the payment will be refunded. Pet deposits and
advance rent deposits, which are refundable under the lease, are considered part of a security deposit under the Georgia law. Application fees or deposits to hold an apartment until you actually sign a lease are not considered security deposits and are usually not refundable, should you choose not to move into the unit.
Unless you are on a month to month oral lease in which the landlord could cancel with thirty days notice with no reason or at the end of the lease which the landlord can cancel with notice, the landlord cannot terminate your lease for no reason. It sounds like since you never signed a new lease from Sept. 2014, you are on a month to month lease and your landlord could cancel it for any reason or no reason at all with 30 days notice, so the lease provisions do not carry over.
See link for the Georgia Landlord tenant handbook for more information: http://www.dca.ga.gov/housing/housingdevelopment/programs/downloads/Georgia_Landlord_Tenant_Handbook.pdf
Please let me know if you have any further questions and please positively rate my answer if satisfied.