How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Jack R. Your Own Question

Jack R.
Jack R., Lawyer
Category: Real Estate Law
Satisfied Customers: 6147
Experience:  Mediator, part of the Ohio Save the Dream Foreclosure project
14472836
Type Your Real Estate Law Question Here...
Jack R. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Sacramento county House inspection program (California). 1)

Resolved Question:

Sacramento county House inspection program (California).
1) I am property manager of xxxx 42nd St, Sacramento.
County asked me to let county inspect the house.
But the tenants said he does not want it. if he is forced to inspect, he will leave.
He is one of best tenants I don't want him to leave.

2) County forced me to send notice to access, can I reject to do so ?
I am not county employee, why do I need to access the house for County ?
(see the link: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B6pz7y7YCm-fNmVxOFZSRjBmcFU/edit?usp=sharing )
3) looks like County inspection program violates tenants privacy and tenants Constitutional Right.
Are there any people who successfully rejected it?
If I use lawer to asnwer that "as property Managr and owner , we don't want to
violate tenants Constitutional right, we don't want to send notice to tenant for this inspection",
can we do that ?


Thanks (see the link above)
Benjamin
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Real Estate Law
Expert:  Jack R. replied 1 year ago.

Thank you for choosing Just Answer. My name is XXXXX XXXXX I will assist you.

 

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but the law here is not on your side. The County building inspector has a legal right to inspect the premises. There is no constitutional protection against housing inspections. The inspection is completed to assure the property is up to code and does not present a health hazard to tenants.

 

Your failure to comply can have dire consequences. The County can file a lawsuit or criminal charges. In some counties the property can be condemned pending inspections and all tenants forced to leave.

 

I can sympathize about what you tenant is saying and threatening. There are really no options here. The tenant just like you are subject to the laws which require that you submit o an inspection.

 

While I understand this is not the response you were hoping for please do not berate me for the laws in place. I would ask that you rate my response 3 or better so I can get credit for my response. If you have follow up questions please ask.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

do you know someone filed lawer suit to court :


 


http://crimewatch.us/RHIP.htm

Expert:  Jack R. replied 1 year ago.
I am not sure what you are asking ? Could you restate your question ?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
From this site, someone got favor from judge in Hayward , do you know whether they win or lost in upper court ?
Expert:  Jack R. replied 1 year ago.
No I do not.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Hi Jack, defends argue using below words, do you think he is right in someway ?


 


The 14th Amendment: "All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the State wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws."

Expert:  Jack R. replied 1 year ago.
There is no property interest being taken by an inspection. You are not being deprived of life, or liberty. The government may enact laws for the public safety. The laws are applied equally to all landlords. Once the inspection is complete and you have violations that need be fixed you are entitled to a hearing if you do not wish to repair the violations. If you lose the there are significant consequences.

If you think about it look at airports, every passenger is being searched. You enter a government building metal detectors abound.

Many states have car inspections which if failed can deprive you of using you automobile on the roads.

Building inspectors are the norm for construction, they can stop a project in its tracks for violations.

A landlord or tenant can argue with the inspector about denying access for an inspection, it is a losing proposition.

Please accept my answer with a rating of 3 or better so I may get credit for my response. If you have follow up questions please ask. Please note that paying the deposit does not cause funds to be disbursed until you rate my response (3 or greater).
Jack R., Lawyer
Category: Real Estate Law
Satisfied Customers: 6147
Experience: Mediator, part of the Ohio Save the Dream Foreclosure project
Jack R. and other Real Estate Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4813
    16 years of legal experience including real estate law.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4813
    16 years of legal experience including real estate law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/lawpro/2012-6-25_171315_PT206740s.64x64.jpg Law Pro's Avatar

    Law Pro

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6227
    20 years extensive experience in real estate law, foreclosure, finance, and landlord tenant law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BA/barristerinky/2012-6-10_22423_office.64x64.jpg Barrister's Avatar

    Barrister

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4966
    13 years real estate, Realtor. Landlord 24+ years
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/LawTalk/2012-6-6_17379_LawTalk.64x64.JPG LawTalk's Avatar

    LawTalk

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    4446
    I've more than 27 years legal experience. Additionally, in CA I held a Real Estate Broker's license.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/rayanswers/2012-6-7_23346_Untitled1.64x64.jpg Ray's Avatar

    Ray

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4030
    Texas Attorney for 29 years dealing in real estate
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PH/philip.simmons/2012-6-7_161915_BIGPhilipSimmons.64x64.jpg P. Simmons's Avatar

    P. Simmons

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    2377
    12+ yrs. of experience including real estate law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/mnphillips2/2009-03-13_203105_10984459-249293407.jpeg Phillips Esq.'s Avatar

    Phillips Esq.

    Attorney-at-Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    2355
    B.A.; M.B.A.; J.D.
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Real Estate Lawyer
Jack R.
Jack R.
Real Estate Lawyer
6147 Satisfied Customers
Mediator, part of the Ohio Save the Dream Foreclosure project