How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask socrateaser Your Own Question

socrateaser
socrateaser, Lawyer
Category: Real Estate Law
Satisfied Customers: 34129
Experience:  Attorney and Real Estate broker -- Retired (mostly)
10097515
Type Your Real Estate Law Question Here...
socrateaser is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I needed help reviewing/revising (and possibly rewriting sections)

Resolved Question:

I needed help reviewing/revising (and possibly rewriting sections) a commercial lease. I would need to send you a copy of the lease. Can you help me with that?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Real Estate Law
Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.
Hello,

Please upload the document to www.mediafire.com, and provide a link in your next reply, along with whatever questions you may have.

Thanks in advance.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

FYI: This is the lease. There are some sections that are in red and crossed out. That was done by our real estate agent. However, I would like you to review even those sections.


 


If you cant open the file just let me know. I have never used this software.


 


Please keep me up to date as to your progress.


 


Thanks.


 


PS. I also have it in PDF. Let me know if it is easier for you to read it this way.



http://www.mediafire.com/view/?b1v7k2bj5z4d728

Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.
I have the document -- feel free to delete it so it cannot be read by anyone else.

I will get back to you in a few hours. Thanks for your patience.
Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.
Okay, done. See this link.

Hope this helps.
Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.

Hello again,

Do you have further questions, or is the issue resolved satisfactorily?

Thanks in advance.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
The revision is great. The only section that concerns me a bit is the "hold over" section. Can you do something about that? Thanks.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
How about 150%? What do you think?
Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.
I don't know which section you are referring to. Please provide a section number. Thanks.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
It is 19.01.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Where you able to look at that section. :-)
Expert:  socrateaser replied 1 year ago.
Sorry for the delay. I'm out of town and I have limited internet access.

I modified section 19.01 already to delete the 150% or any other increase in rent based upon a holdover tenancy. As currently modified, your would owe rent at the same rate as you paid during the lease. If the landlord won't accept that, then you'll have to try to negotiate it to your satisfaction. I think that any increase in rent on holding over is unreasonable.

Hope this helps.
socrateaser, Lawyer
Category: Real Estate Law
Satisfied Customers: 34129
Experience: Attorney and Real Estate broker -- Retired (mostly)
socrateaser and 8 other Real Estate Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4813
    16 years of legal experience including real estate law.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4813
    16 years of legal experience including real estate law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/lawpro/2012-6-25_171315_PT206740s.64x64.jpg Law Pro's Avatar

    Law Pro

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6227
    20 years extensive experience in real estate law, foreclosure, finance, and landlord tenant law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BA/barristerinky/2012-6-10_22423_office.64x64.jpg Barrister's Avatar

    Barrister

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4966
    13 years real estate, Realtor. Landlord 24+ years
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/LawTalk/2012-6-6_17379_LawTalk.64x64.JPG LawTalk's Avatar

    LawTalk

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    4446
    I've more than 27 years legal experience. Additionally, in CA I held a Real Estate Broker's license.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/rayanswers/2012-6-7_23346_Untitled1.64x64.jpg Ray's Avatar

    Ray

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4030
    Texas Attorney for 29 years dealing in real estate
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PH/philip.simmons/2012-6-7_161915_BIGPhilipSimmons.64x64.jpg P. Simmons's Avatar

    P. Simmons

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    2377
    12+ yrs. of experience including real estate law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/mnphillips2/2009-03-13_203105_10984459-249293407.jpeg Phillips Esq.'s Avatar

    Phillips Esq.

    Attorney-at-Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    2355
    B.A.; M.B.A.; J.D.