How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Richard Your Own Question

Richard
Richard, Lawyer
Category: Real Estate Law
Satisfied Customers: 46883
Experience:  32 years of experience as lawyer in Texas. I'm also a Real Estate developer.
17027240
Type Your Real Estate Law Question Here...
Richard is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I am reviewing a contract to purchase a new home. Under prepayment,

Customer Question

I am reviewing a contract to purchase a new home. Under prepayment, that says that if I pay off my loan early, I will not be entitled to a refund of part of the finance charge. What does that mean exactly? It doesn't clarify itself anywhere else in the contract.
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Real Estate Law
Expert:  Richard replied 1 year ago.
Welcome! My goal is to do my very best to understand your situation and to provide a full and complete answer for you.


Good morning. If this in the contract to purchase the home, is the seller financing the property for you? If so, what are the terms of the financing? Are there upfront costs? On what basis in the loan being amortized? I apologize for so many questions, but I want to be able to provide you complete and accurate information.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

No. It is a bank financed loan.It's a 30 year fixed mortgage rate. Upfront cost are my down payment plus settlement costs. I don't know what you mean by amortized.

Expert:  Richard replied 1 year ago.
Thanks for following up. This provision is in your contract to purchase? Or is it in the documents being provided by your lender? If the latter, are you buying down your interest rate?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

It is in the document provided by the lender. No. I would like to make extra payments on the principle.

Expert:  Richard replied 1 year ago.
Thanks...now I understand what this is. This is a standard form provision that is typically in lender documents. As long as you aren't paying any amounts to buy down your rate and as long as you specifically identify your extra payments as being designated specifically for principal reduction so that they don't get simply applied to any prepayment of interest, this provision will have no impact on you. Only if you had purchased the rate down (which is effectively prepayment of interest) or been deemed to have prepaid interest by not designating additional payments to be applied to principal would this provision have any impact on you. You have every right to make prepayments of principal without penalty under the following CA statute:

California Civil Code Section 2954.9

(a) (1) Except as otherwise provided by statute, where the
original principal obligation is a loan for residential property of
four units or less, the borrower under any note or evidence of
indebtedness secured by a deed of trust or mortgage or any other lien
on real property shall be entitled to prepay the whole or any part
of the balance due, together with accrued interest, at any time.


Thank you so much for allowing me to help you with your questions. I have done my best to provide information which will be helpful to you. If I have not fully addressed your questions or if you have any follow up questions, or if I have misinterpreted your questions in any way, please do not rate me yet, but simply ask a follow up question without rating so I can provide you with a fully satisfactory answer. If I have fully answered your question(s) to your satisfaction, I would appreciate you rating my service with 3, 4, or 5 faces/stars so I can receive credit for helping you today. I thank you in advance for taking the time to provide me a positive rating!
Richard, Lawyer
Category: Real Estate Law
Satisfied Customers: 46883
Experience: 32 years of experience as lawyer in Texas. I'm also a Real Estate developer.
Richard and 4 other Real Estate Law Specialists are ready to help you
Expert:  Richard replied 1 year ago.
Thank you so much for the positive rating! I appreciate having had the opportunity to serve you! If I can be of assistance to you in the future, just look me up and I will be happy to help! For easy access, my bookmark is: http://www.justanswer.com/law/expert-legalbeacon/

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4813
    16 years of legal experience including real estate law.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4813
    16 years of legal experience including real estate law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/lawpro/2012-6-25_171315_PT206740s.64x64.jpg Law Pro's Avatar

    Law Pro

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6227
    20 years extensive experience in real estate law, foreclosure, finance, and landlord tenant law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BA/barristerinky/2012-6-10_22423_office.64x64.jpg Barrister's Avatar

    Barrister

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4966
    13 years real estate, Realtor. Landlord 24+ years
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/LawTalk/2012-6-6_17379_LawTalk.64x64.JPG LawTalk's Avatar

    LawTalk

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    4446
    I've more than 27 years legal experience. Additionally, in CA I held a Real Estate Broker's license.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/rayanswers/2012-6-7_23346_Untitled1.64x64.jpg Ray's Avatar

    Ray

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4030
    Texas Attorney for 29 years dealing in real estate
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PH/philip.simmons/2012-6-7_161915_BIGPhilipSimmons.64x64.jpg P. Simmons's Avatar

    P. Simmons

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    2377
    12+ yrs. of experience including real estate law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/mnphillips2/2009-03-13_203105_10984459-249293407.jpeg Phillips Esq.'s Avatar

    Phillips Esq.

    Attorney-at-Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    2355
    B.A.; M.B.A.; J.D.
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Real Estate Lawyer
Richard
Richard
Real Estate Lawyer
46883 Satisfied Customers
32 years of experience as lawyer in Texas. I'm also a Real Estate developer.