How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Rick Your Own Question

Rick
Rick, Construction Supervisor
Category: Plumbing
Satisfied Customers: 14544
Experience:  Licensed Master plumber with 40+ yrs. experience.
94766
Type Your Plumbing Question Here...
Rick is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

how much psi to pass natural gas inspection in you home to

Resolved Question:

how much psi to pass natural gas inspection in you home to get gas turn back on. how many psi and forhow long to pass
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Plumbing
Expert:  Rick replied 3 years ago.
Welcome to Just Answer,

The piping must hold a minimum of 3 psi for a minimum of 10 minutes for a single family home.
Rick, Construction Supervisor
Category: Plumbing
Satisfied Customers: 14544
Experience: Licensed Master plumber with 40+ yrs. experience.
Rick and other Plumbing Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 3 years ago.
is that law in st.louis mo or in jennings mo . what do you mean by singel family home we have heater stove and gas drer gas water heater is still the same as 3psi for tem min
Expert:  Rick replied 3 years ago.
Those standards are directly from the NFPA 54 which is the National gas code in use in most jusidictions in the country. It is the National standard. It sounds like you have a single family home. A 2 family home would be a home with 2 apartments.
Customer: replied 3 years ago.
hi my name is kevin have one more question the meter on the out of the house said 5psi so should check at maxiam of 5psi
Expert:  Rick replied 3 years ago.
The code says 3 psi at a minimum or 1 1/2 times the working pressure. No residential system that I am aware of runs on more than 11 inches of water column which is less than 1/2 psi. I don't know where you are reading 5 psi but I doubt that is the pressure on the piping in your house. If you want you can test to 7.5 psi which would be 1 1/2 times the 5 psi

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • You did one super job of explaining to me everything there is to know about this fridge. I'm looking forward to asking you questions in the future. Jimmy Bagley, IA
< Last | Next >
  • You did one super job of explaining to me everything there is to know about this fridge. I'm looking forward to asking you questions in the future. Jimmy Bagley, IA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Marc

    Plumber

    Satisfied Customers:

    996
    Plumbing heating & home maintenance contractor
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/VE/Veillplumb/2011-8-31_155028_IMG1104.64x64.JPG Marc's Avatar

    Marc

    Plumber

    Satisfied Customers:

    996
    Plumbing heating & home maintenance contractor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/plmqwk/2010-08-28_151844_profile_pic.jpg Plmqwk's Avatar

    Plmqwk

    Master Plumber

    Satisfied Customers:

    850
    20+ years in plumbing field. Licensed master plumber, commercial plumbing inspector
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JE/jerrymassie/2011-1-15_45937_1111055.64x64.JPG Jerry's Avatar

    Jerry

    Plumber

    Satisfied Customers:

    777
    over 20 years residential plumbing experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PL/plumber171/2011-8-13_11445_plumber.500x500.64x64.jpg Mario's Avatar

    Mario

    Master Plumber

    Satisfied Customers:

    604
    Master Plumber, Fire Sprinkler, and Jobbing Spec.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ABSBoss/2009-03-25_163017_2007-1031_046.jpg Bud's Avatar

    Bud

    Plumber

    Satisfied Customers:

    538
    22 Years Field Experience - 17 Years Business Ownership - Residential or Light Commercial
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TH/theplumber717/2011-11-24_34039_DSCF7012.64x64.JPG Theplumber717's Avatar

    Theplumber717

    Plumber, Hvac Tech

    Satisfied Customers:

    520
    Lic Plumbing contractor, 27/yrs res,com,repair,Universal HVAC Tech
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/skibum0101/2008-12-16_015819_just_answer.jpg Rick Mather's Avatar

    Rick Mather

    Building Inspector

    Satisfied Customers:

    494
    Assistant Building Official, HVAC Tech
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Plumber
Rick
Rick
Plumber
14544 Satisfied Customers
Licensed Master plumber with 40+ yrs. experience.