How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. Loretta Your Own Question

Dr. Loretta
Dr. Loretta, Dog Veterinarian
Category: Dog
Satisfied Customers: 26607
Experience:  25 years of experience in large and small animal medicine.
16881297
Type Your Dog Question Here...
Dr. Loretta is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Back again - What, in your opinion, is the optimum protein

Customer Question

Back again - What, in your opinion, is the optimum protein / fat % for a young puppy? My older dogs are on a raw diet, but since she has been sick I have her on an organic canned food and human grade kibble, not to take any chances with immature digestive system. The kibble is 28% protein and 18% fat. The canned food is 20% protein and 18% fat, I mix it about 1/2 and 1/2.

The breeder recommended puppy food for 3 months, then gradually decreasing the amount of puppy food and adult food.

Some people who feed raw (homemade or kibble) push too much protein in their dogs, in my opinion. What I really want is to optimize the balance between healthy growth and strong, straight bone and joint formation - not to have her grow too fast or any nutritionally-caused abnormalities in her orthopedic structure.

There is so much information out there, and I have researched this alot over the years, but opinions are still all over the map.

Do you have any thoughts on this that you could share? How much protein and when to get off the puppy food level of protein?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Dog
Expert:  Dr. Loretta replied 1 year ago.
HI again...

I generally recommend at least 22% protein to 18% fat....this helps with growth and a good healthy coat. The food you have is excellent with 28% protein and 18% fat...this is given until a year of age. Some recommend 9 months for growth but I stick with 1 year for my Aussies and I feel that they do better with this because they are not totally mature until after 1 yr...

Does that make sense?
Dr. Loretta, Dog Veterinarian
Category: Dog
Satisfied Customers: 26607
Experience: 25 years of experience in large and small animal medicine.
Dr. Loretta and 6 other Dog Specialists are ready to help you
Expert:  Dr. Loretta replied 1 year ago.

Thank you so much, Melanie for your kind rating and generous bonus. It is very much appreciated! Do not hesitate to contact me with any other concerns that you may have about Phoebe's diet. If you have other questions, please Reply.

Have a great day!!

Expert:  Dr. Loretta replied 1 year ago.
Hi Melanie,

I'm just following up on our conversation about Phoebe. How is everything going?

Dr. Loretta

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • You are a light at the end of scary tunnel when $ are tight, but people need professional help to turn to for help with their dear pets! Linh Charleston, WV
< Last | Next >
  • You are a light at the end of scary tunnel when $ are tight, but people need professional help to turn to for help with their dear pets! Linh Charleston, WV
  • $1,000 spent at his vet, and I finally get the correct diagnosis from Nancy Holmes for $15 Carol Cedar Hill, MO
  • I think this is the greatest web site in the world. Thanks to all! Judy New Haven, CT
  • I have referred several friends to your web site. I'm impressed with how easy it is to use your site, the Experts available and the quickness of answers. Nina USA
  • I am completely pleased with the quick response that I received in our time of need for our dog, Jasmine. I couldn't believe how quick the response was and I thank you. It's good to know you're there!! Jasmine's Mom USA
  • Please let everyone involved with your site know that your Expert, Dr. Lucy, has saved my dog's life. I will recommend your site to all my pet loving friends. Thank you again for simply being there! Sonya G Easley, SC
  • Last night my Expert spent close to 3 hours working with me on my dog's illness. Thank you so much for this opportunity to share in her care and knowledge! Cathie M Pompano Beach, FL
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Dr. Gary

    Dog Veterinarian

    Satisfied Customers:

    2534
    DVM, Emergency Veterinarian; BS (Physiology) Michigan State Univ
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RY/rydergar/2012-6-6_192240_IMG0328.64x64.JPG Dr. Gary's Avatar

    Dr. Gary

    Dog Veterinarian

    Satisfied Customers:

    2534
    DVM, Emergency Veterinarian; BS (Physiology) Michigan State Univ
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/Jav917/2012-2-20_54059_201221802254JoananddavidArchuleta3.64x64.jpg Joan's Avatar

    Joan

    Vet Tech

    Satisfied Customers:

    4544
    Vet Tech for over 30+ years working w/Dogs/Rescues
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/jadedangel57/2011-11-8_193134_janenewsm.64x64.jpg Jane Lefler's Avatar

    Jane Lefler

    Breeder,Behaviorist, formerVet Asst

    Satisfied Customers:

    13847
    Former vol Vet Assistant.Breeder 16+ years Dog trainer / behaviorist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ER/ERPetNurse/2011-11-7_1293_b.64x64.jpg Candy's Avatar

    Candy

    Veterinary Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    7108
    Practicing Veterinary Technician for 26 years.Former Veterinary Practice Owner, Technician Trainer
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BA/babybloo/2011-3-10_62613_DavidandI.64x64.jpg Theresa's Avatar

    Theresa

    A Voice for Your Pet

    Satisfied Customers:

    4704
    19+ years experience in small animal medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/VE/vetforyou/2012-6-20_33122_PearlPhoto.64x64.jpg Dr. Andy's Avatar

    Dr. Andy

    Medical Director

    Satisfied Customers:

    4430
    UC Davis Graduate, Interests: Dermatology, Internal Medicine, Pain Management
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/VE/VetAnswers/2013-4-5_8257_prof10.64x64.jpg Scott Nimmo's Avatar

    Scott Nimmo

    Dog Veterinarian

    Satisfied Customers:

    3977
    BVMS, MRCVS.
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Dog Specialist
Dr. Loretta
Dr. Loretta
Large and small animal Veterinarian
610 Satisfied Customers
25 years of experience in large and small animal medicine.