Personal Injury Law
Personal Injury Law Questions? Ask Personal Injury Lawyers.
Welcome to Just Answer (“JA”)! My name is Maverick.
Note: (1) If you want legal advice, consult with a local attorney before acting or deciding not to act; information given here is for educational purposes only; (2) Most questions are answered within the hour; however, if I am not signed on, please allow up to 24 hours; and (3) Please assign a feedback rating so JA will compensate me. By continuing, you confirm that you understand and agree to these terms and to JA’s other site disclaimers.
*Can you please state your specific legal question so we know what type of answer you are looking for?
The first thing to do here is to request a copy of your medical file so that you know what it is that she said. In Kansas you have the right to see and get a copy of your medical record. Your health care provider usually must let you see your medical record or give you a copy of it no later than 30 days after they receive your request.
Second, you have the right to add your own short statement to your medical record to make it more complete or accurate. I would do this to clarify whatever negative comment that she may have put.
Third, you may be able to sue her for defamation. To win a defamation lawsuit in Kansas, you must prove that the statement she made in the record is false and that it caused material or reputational harm to you; and that she acted either negligently or with actual malice in making the statement.