How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr.M.D.Mazumdar Your Own Question

Dr.M.D.Mazumdar
Dr.M.D.Mazumdar, Doctor
Category: OB GYN
Satisfied Customers: 8607
Experience:  MD (Obst&Gynecology)
1725470
Type Your OB GYN Question Here...
Dr.M.D.Mazumdar is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Hello, I would like a second opinion (already spoke to Dr

Customer Question

Hello,
I would like a second opinion (already spoke to Dr Owen who was very helpful) on an ovarian cyst. What does hypoechoic mean?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: OB GYN
Expert:  Dr.M.D.Mazumdar replied 1 year ago.
Hello,

Welcome and thank you for your question.

The term ' Hypoechoic' is used in ultrasound to indicate an area of the body through which the sound waves pass easily - this is seen with liquids. In ultrasound the sound waves are sent into the body and once they strike an organ and are reflected back , recorded. In case of solid structures, more sound waves reflect back and are thus termed as ' hyperehoic'. In case of liquid bodies, the sound waves pass through and less are reflected back - so they are hypoechoic.

If your ovarian cyst has been reported as Hypoechoic, then it means that it contains fluid and is not a solid mass.

I hope this helps.
-
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Hi,


So hypechoic does not mean solid tissue? May I post a couple photos and report for your opinion on this cyst?


 

Expert:  Dr.M.D.Mazumdar replied 1 year ago.
Yes, hypoechoic does not mean solid tissue.

Please go ahead and post the images.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.


I really want to post these photos. When I upload the photo and hit reply, it gives me an error that says access denied. Never had this happen on this site. Let me try again


 

Expert:  Dr.M.D.Mazumdar replied 1 year ago.
You can upload the photos to a freesite like photobucket.com and then post the links here. That should work.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Ok, let me try that. This is so strange. I've posted lots of things on here and never had this problem. Let me try photobucket.com really quick. One sec please. Sorry


 

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

So sorry about that. Thanks for your patience. Photobucket would not work for me. Not sure what's going on. They worked here. Are you able to see these 5 images:


http://www.flickr.com/photos/62300955@N05/?saved=1


 

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

I loaded one more on flickr, image 0709 if you wouldn't mind looking at that one as well?

Expert:  Dr.M.D.Mazumdar replied 1 year ago.
Let me check that out.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Thanks

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

I'm not sure if you replied but I just got an email that you replied but there's nothing posted except where I replied "thanks" after you said you'd check it out


 

Expert:  Dr.M.D.Mazumdar replied 1 year ago.
I have just checked the images.

you do have a ovarian cyst - it contains only fluid and no solid areas - which is a good sign since solid areas can indicate malignant tissue.

The cysts also contain fine debris - likely to be either old blood or cellular debris. Blood is sometimes present in the cyst due to a condition called endometriosis but in this condition, the debris will look more evenly present throughout the cyst and more thicker.

Your ultrasound shows a simple ovarian cyst.

I hope this helps.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

It's confusing, the report says it's complex. I see also it has the little bright white echogenic foci (I think that's the right description). I thought the internal echoes/grey stuff throughout meant it was complex?


I also thought it was strange how lacking in info. the radiologist report is. There's nothing descript in it. It mentions it's a complex cyst but nothing about what makes it complex....internal echoes, septations, nodularity, etc. Is this normal that the radiologist would just state a cyst looks complex in appearance with no other info?

Expert:  Dr.M.D.Mazumdar replied 1 year ago.
The report does mention a complex cyst but the images does not show any solid areas - there are bright foci which are likely to be cellular debris.

A complex cyst usually means that there is a mass of clearly identified solid structure together with the fluid component.

In your cases, images no 0707, 0692 - show completely clear cysts. Image no 0690 - however shows a indentation on the right side of teh cyst - possibly this has been identified as a solid mass by the radiologist. I do not think this is a part of teh cyst.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Thank you. Can complex cyst also mean it has internal echoes? When you say you don't think 0690 is part of the cyst (indentation), not sure I know what you mean.


And the above are my last questions.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

And I know only histopathology (?) will only tell for sure but do you think this looks like a cancerous ovarian mass?

Expert:  Dr.M.D.Mazumdar replied 1 year ago.
If you check image no - 0690, you will see that there is a solid mass on the right side which seem to be indenting the fluid area - it is possible that this is what the radiologist meant when he said complex but i do not think that this indentation is a part of the cyst.


And I do not think, going by the images, that this is not malignant.
Expert:  Dr.M.D.Mazumdar replied 1 year ago.
Sorry, I meant that I do not think that is is malignant.
Dr.M.D.Mazumdar, Doctor
Category: OB GYN
Satisfied Customers: 8607
Experience: MD (Obst&Gynecology)
Dr.M.D.Mazumdar and other OB GYN Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Thanks for taking a look.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I'm sorry, do you mind explaining you said you don't think this solid area/indentation is a part of the cyst? Do you mean you think it's likely not something growing from the cyst wall like a huge nodule?
Expert:  Dr.M.D.Mazumdar replied 1 year ago.
Yes, that is what I meant - I do not think that this is growing from the side of the cyst wall. It looks more like something outside the cyst but which seems to be inside the cyst due to the angle of the ultrasound probe.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Could it be my ovary? I guess I'm
Asking if that's more likely the ovary rather than some other type of growth?
Expert:  Dr.M.D.Mazumdar replied 1 year ago.
Yes, the cyst is from the ovary, not some other growth.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Hi,
I meant the object that's causing that right sided cyst wall indentation, couldn't it be the ovary causing the cyst wall indentation rather than like a solid growth of some sort next to the cyst?
Thanks
Expert:  Dr.M.D.Mazumdar replied 1 year ago.
Oh yes, it probably is part of the ovary causing the indentation.

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me from a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O. USA
< Last | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me from a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O. USA
  • I can go as far as to say it could have resulted in saving my sons life and our entire family now knows what bipolar is and how to assist and understand my most wonderful son, brother and friend to all who loves him dearly. Thank you very much Corrie Moll Pretoria, South Africa
  • I thank-you so much! It really helped to have this information and confirmation. We will watch her carefully and get her in for the examination and US right away if things do not improve. God bless you as well! Claudia Albuquerque, NM
  • Outstanding response time less than 6 minutes. Answered the question professionally and with a great deal of compassion. Kevin Beaverton, OR
  • Suggested diagnosis was what I hoped and will take this info to my doctor's appointment next week.
    I feel better already! Thank you.
    Elanor Tracy, CA
  • Thank you to the Physician who answered my question today. The answer was far more informative than what I got from the Physicians I saw in person for my problem. Julie Lockesburg, AR
  • You have been more help than you know. I seriously don't know what my sisters situation would be today if you had not gone above and beyond just answering my questions. John and Stefanie Tucson, AZ
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Dr. C.

    Board Certified

    Satisfied Customers:

    1618
    28 years of experience and an award-winning educator.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrCollins/2013-11-3_1283_Cascade669.64x64.jpg Dr. C.'s Avatar

    Dr. C.

    Board Certified

    Satisfied Customers:

    1618
    28 years of experience and an award-winning educator.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/drhearne/2009-11-8_74742_monika_hearne2.jpg Monika Hearne, M.D.'s Avatar

    Monika Hearne, M.D.

    Board Certified OB/GYN

    Satisfied Customers:

    5745
    With experience and compassion, I treat my patients like family.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jmcjrmd/2009-6-26_4212_Joepicture_Edited.jpg Dr. Charles's Avatar

    Dr. Charles

    OB/GYN (Doctor)

    Satisfied Customers:

    140
    Board Certified. Solo practice for 8 years; delivered more than 1300 infants and performed more than 800 surgeries.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    1503
    Board certified OB/GYN with 20 years of experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/drprabirkumarda/2010-08-07_144928_Photo-0010_1.jpg DR PRABIR KUMAR DAS's Avatar

    DR PRABIR KUMAR DAS

    CONSULTANT GYNAECOLOGIST

    Satisfied Customers:

    1352
    MBBS(CAL)MD(G&O)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jbbrowndoc/2009-09-29_180651_headshot.jpg Dr.JBB's Avatar

    Dr.JBB

    Board Certified OB/GYN

    Satisfied Customers:

    1293
    15 yrs experience in Women's Health, Pelvic reconstruction and Incontinence
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RP/Rpjtlawr/2012-9-5_16443_Robportraitadjusted.64x64.jpg Dr. Lawrence's Avatar

    Dr. Lawrence

    OB/GYN

    Satisfied Customers:

    442
    Board Certified OB/GYN and accomplished educator