How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Chris(aka-Moose) Your Own Question
Chris(aka-Moose)
Chris(aka-Moose), Nissan Technician
Category: Nissan
Satisfied Customers: 607
Experience:  16 years of experience
2499435
Type Your Nissan Question Here...
Chris(aka-Moose) is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Evap system keeps showing not ready on state inspection,

Customer Question

Evap system keeps showing not ready on state inspection
JA: How many miles are on the car? Have any warning codes popped up?
Customer: 214,000 replaced the evap pump and it just says not ready at the inspection station
JA: What year is your Station?
Customer: I assume 2017
JA: Are you fixing your Station yourself? What have you tried so far?
Customer: Huh? the State inspection station
JA: Anything else you want the mechanic to know before I connect you?
Customer: what does not ready mean? and I have driven the crap outta it and reset the computer twice
Submitted: 1 month ago.
Category: Nissan
Expert:  Roy Belding replied 1 month ago.

hello, my name is ***** ***** I will be glad to assist you. please allow me a couple of minutes to gather some basic info.

Roy

Expert:  Roy Belding replied 1 month ago.

ok

what was the code???

who verified the part was the failure??

if there is a continuing issue the monitor will never set.

Roy

Customer: replied 1 month ago.
The check engine light has never come on I just went to have it inspected and on the paper work it said evap system not ready! so I got a new I guess pump or whatever and reset the pcm and drove about 150 miles came back same crap! I have a ticket for this and I have been dealing with this for 15 days I have to get this done!
Customer: replied 1 month ago.
oh and I got a new gas capto
Expert:  Roy Belding replied 1 month ago.

do you have a scan tool to monitor the data for the evap system???

not a gas cap.

Customer: replied 1 month ago.
no I went autozone
Customer: replied 1 month ago.
I can run and have them check it again
Expert:  Roy Belding replied 1 month ago.

without that you cannot tell why the system is not setting.

from here I need that info.

I will open this up to other guys to see if they can give you some educated guesses. I dont guess. I diag once, repair once

Roy

Expert:  Roy Belding replied 1 month ago.

no, you need a full blown scan tool. not a code reader as they have

Customer: replied 1 month ago.
is there anything on the engine it's self that I may need to replace?
Customer: replied 1 month ago.
well crap how much do those cost
Customer: replied 1 month ago.
Roy ya still there
Customer: replied 1 month ago.
is there anything under the hood that could possibly need to be replaced!
Expert:  Roy Belding replied 1 month ago.

no, you need to diagnose the failure. just throwing parts at it will do nothing but hurt your pocketbook. thats why you need a scan tool.