How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Mike V. Your Own Question

Mike V.
Mike V., Nissan Technician
Category: Nissan
Satisfied Customers: 20091
Experience:  Nissan factory trained and Certified Subaru Technician.
Type Your Nissan Question Here...
Mike V. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

2000 Nissan maxima: the check engine light flashing..inspection

Customer Question

I have a 2000 Nissan maxima with 160k with the check engine light flashing. I have had so much work done to this car for the check engine light so it would pass emissions inspection. All the work was done by a Nissan dealership. The car is my son's car so I don't have the receipts with me right now. My question is - if the check engine light flashes and the car is running rough even when idle....could it be the catalytic converters? Is it safe to drive at all.
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Nissan
Expert:  Mike V. replied 3 years ago.
GreetingsCustomerand welcome to JA! I will do my very best to assist you with your problem.
Hi there! The flashing check engine light normally is caused by an engine misfire. This would be a bad coil or spark plug normally.
If the light is flashing, it is possible there is damage being done to the converters.
Normally the converter won't cause the light to flash, I would not suggest driving it with the light flashing, it could damage the converter and lead to more money.
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

Hi Car Guy - you helped me back in Jan 2010 - at that time the check engine light was on and I provided you the codes and you said it could be the MAF and ballparked around 700. Well you were right and it cost us $670 by a certified Nissan tech. Could any of this be related to MAF - I have not check for any codes - would a missfire spit out a code?

 

Thanks again!

Customer/p>
Expert:  Mike V. replied 3 years ago.
The misfire will spit out a code. The maf won't make it flash, I am sure you have a misfire and if you have a code reader, we can likely diagnose it pretty quickly.
Mike V., Nissan Technician
Category: Nissan
Satisfied Customers: 20091
Experience: Nissan factory trained and Certified Subaru Technician.
Mike V. and 5 other Nissan Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I was in trouble with an electrical issue with my brand new Nissan. I frantically went online trying to find help and luckily I found your site. I reached a NISSAN tech named RIP. He was absolutely tremendous and helped me work through the issue. What a pro! cjaz Lexington, KY
< Last | Next >
  • I was in trouble with an electrical issue with my brand new Nissan. I frantically went online trying to find help and luckily I found your site. I reached a NISSAN tech named RIP. He was absolutely tremendous and helped me work through the issue. What a pro! cjaz Lexington, KY
  • I would (and have) recommend your site to others I was quite satisfied with the quality of the information received, the professional with whom I interacted, and the quick response time. Thanks, and be sure that I'll be back whenever I need a question answered in a hurry. Stephanie P Elm City, NC
  • used your service this weekend with "Trecers" help. thank you ,thank you, thank you. replaced an A/C fan motor. Local Auto Zone had part. $15.00 "tracer" fee and $40.00 for parts, I saved several hundreds of dollers at a shop. i will recommend you and use you in the future. David L. Richmond, TX
  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil Marysville, CA
  • Lurch. Thank you very much. I had real doubts about this website but your promptness of response, quick followup and to the point answer with picture was incredible. Charles Walnut Creek, CA
  • As a single woman, I really appreciate an excellent and affordable opinion.
    Thank you Geordie, I will not hesitate to contact justanswer in the future!
    Sue Charleston, WV
  • Another great insight to what may be the problem. I will have my mechanic take a look at it tomorrow. Thanks again, Frank...you do indeed know your stuff. Jim Castleberry, FL
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tim Mohr

    ASE MASTER TECH

    Satisfied Customers:

    446
    30 YRS EXPERIENCE, FOREIGN AND DOMESTIC, GAS AND DEISEL
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/tsmodie/2009-6-10_144056_tim.jpg Tim Mohr's Avatar

    Tim Mohr

    ASE MASTER TECH

    Satisfied Customers:

    446
    30 YRS EXPERIENCE, FOREIGN AND DOMESTIC, GAS AND DEISEL
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CA/caprio23/2011-12-13_155550_20111213105344.64x64.jpg Anthony's Avatar

    Anthony

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    306
    ASE Master Automobile Technician with over 18 years exp. in this field.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FO/fordguy4u/2011-12-17_222940_HPIM1257.64x64.JPG Ron's Avatar

    Ron

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    171
    34 years of automotive Repair
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/muddyford/2012-6-13_1204_1.64x64.png Chris(aka-Moose)'s Avatar

    Chris(aka-Moose)

    Nissan Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    165
    16 years of experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EU/eurotec/2012-6-11_13153_mpjaphoto.64x64.JPG Marty's Avatar

    Marty

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    127
    ASE & Bosch master tech. 30 years experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BA/baddad1/2013-8-30_131413_11848761610058140852271553042976n.64x64.jpg Mike V.'s Avatar

    Mike V.

    Nissan Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    7443
    Nissan factory trained and Certified Subaru Technician.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CR/crzydrvr00/2013-11-3_12123_246347.64x64.jpg Richard's Avatar

    Richard

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    92
    Nissan Tech ASE certified technician