How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask brownjeff Your Own Question

brownjeff
brownjeff, ASE Certified Technician
Category: Nissan
Satisfied Customers: 13885
Experience:  17 years experience, ASE certified, dealership certified, Service Manager for 15 years,
11021861
Type Your Nissan Question Here...
brownjeff is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

1998 I30: emissions..P0325 Knock Sensor 1 Circuit Malfunction..OBD II

Customer Question

Failed emissions inspection because of "P0325 Knock Sensor 1 Circuit Malfunction (Bank 1 or Single Sensor") message plus a number of OBD II Readiness Monitors that are "Not Ready"

What can be done to fix and pass inspection for my 1998 I30?
Submitted: 4 years ago.
Category: Nissan
Expert:  brownjeff replied 4 years ago.
Normally this is due to a failing knock sensor and the reason it is expensive to replace is the intake manifold needs to be removed to gain access to the sensor.
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Your answer is what I had in my question. Searching the issue indicated that sometimes resetting the codes can clear it up and the fact that others codes were not ready, told me I needed to drive the car farther.

All you've said is get it fixed. The dealer even said, $500, if that is what the problem really is.
Expert:  brownjeff replied 4 years ago.
Do you have a scan tool?
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
No, I do not own a scan tool. If I did or could borrow one, then what?
Expert:  brownjeff replied 4 years ago.

There is a test you can do to determine if it is bad, but need a scan tool. Also with out a scan tool if you have a meter. Here is some information.

 

 

 

With CONSULT

1)Turn ignition switch "ON" and select "DATA MONITOR" mode with CONSULT.
2)Start engine and run it at least 5 seconds at idle speed

OR

With Generic Scan Tool

1)Start engine and run it at least 5 seconds at idle speed.
2)Select "MODE 3" with GST.

OR

Without Scan Tools

1)Start engine and run it at least 5 seconds at idle speed.
2)Turn ignition switch "OFF", wait at least 5 seconds and then turn "ON".
3)Perform "Diagnostic Test Mode II (Self-diagnostic results)" with ECM.

 

 

graphic

 

 

graphic

 

 

 

  1. Disconnect knock sensor harness connector.
  2. Check resistance between terminal (2) and ground. Approximately 500 - 620 K Ohms at 25°C (77°F)
    • It is necessary to use an ohmmeter which can measure more than 10 M Ohms.

 

 

graphic

Customer: replied 4 years ago.

1. What is Consult?
2. With generic scan tool, what is GST and how is scan tool connected.
3. How is step 3) in Without scan tools run and what is ECM?
Expert:  brownjeff replied 4 years ago.

The consult is a brand of scan tool

GST is generic scan tool

The ECM is the engine control module

Customer: replied 4 years ago.

What will clearing or resetting the codes do?

Why are some monitor redings by the inspection station reading "Not Ready" and how does one get them "Ready?" I had the battery disconnected for 6-8 hours while I was replacing a battery terminal cable. Does that have any impact on my issues?
Expert:  brownjeff replied 4 years ago.
Disconnecting the battery has caused the not ready problem and will need to drive the vehicle for a while to get them ready.

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I was in trouble with an electrical issue with my brand new Nissan. I frantically went online trying to find help and luckily I found your site. I reached a NISSAN tech named RIP. He was absolutely tremendous and helped me work through the issue. What a pro! cjaz Lexington, KY
< Last | Next >
  • I was in trouble with an electrical issue with my brand new Nissan. I frantically went online trying to find help and luckily I found your site. I reached a NISSAN tech named RIP. He was absolutely tremendous and helped me work through the issue. What a pro! cjaz Lexington, KY
  • I would (and have) recommend your site to others I was quite satisfied with the quality of the information received, the professional with whom I interacted, and the quick response time. Thanks, and be sure that I'll be back whenever I need a question answered in a hurry. Stephanie P Elm City, NC
  • used your service this weekend with "Trecers" help. thank you ,thank you, thank you. replaced an A/C fan motor. Local Auto Zone had part. $15.00 "tracer" fee and $40.00 for parts, I saved several hundreds of dollers at a shop. i will recommend you and use you in the future. David L. Richmond, TX
  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil Marysville, CA
  • Lurch. Thank you very much. I had real doubts about this website but your promptness of response, quick followup and to the point answer with picture was incredible. Charles Walnut Creek, CA
  • As a single woman, I really appreciate an excellent and affordable opinion.
    Thank you Geordie, I will not hesitate to contact justanswer in the future!
    Sue Charleston, WV
  • Another great insight to what may be the problem. I will have my mechanic take a look at it tomorrow. Thanks again, Frank...you do indeed know your stuff. Jim Castleberry, FL
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tim Mohr

    ASE MASTER TECH

    Satisfied Customers:

    446
    30 YRS EXPERIENCE, FOREIGN AND DOMESTIC, GAS AND DEISEL
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/tsmodie/2009-6-10_144056_tim.jpg Tim Mohr's Avatar

    Tim Mohr

    ASE MASTER TECH

    Satisfied Customers:

    446
    30 YRS EXPERIENCE, FOREIGN AND DOMESTIC, GAS AND DEISEL
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CA/caprio23/2011-12-13_155550_20111213105344.64x64.jpg Anthony's Avatar

    Anthony

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    306
    ASE Master Automobile Technician with over 18 years exp. in this field.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FO/fordguy4u/2011-12-17_222940_HPIM1257.64x64.JPG Ron's Avatar

    Ron

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    171
    34 years of automotive Repair
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/muddyford/2012-6-13_1204_1.64x64.png Chris(aka-Moose)'s Avatar

    Chris(aka-Moose)

    Nissan Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    165
    16 years of experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EU/eurotec/2012-6-11_13153_mpjaphoto.64x64.JPG Marty's Avatar

    Marty

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    127
    ASE & Bosch master tech. 30 years experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BA/baddad1/2013-8-30_131413_11848761610058140852271553042976n.64x64.jpg Mike V.'s Avatar

    Mike V.

    Nissan Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    7443
    Nissan factory trained and Certified Subaru Technician.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CR/crzydrvr00/2013-11-3_12123_246347.64x64.jpg Richard's Avatar

    Richard

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    92
    Nissan Tech ASE certified technician
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Nissan Mechanic
brownjeff
brownjeff
Nissan Mechanic
13885 Satisfied Customers
17 years experience, ASE certified, dealership certified, Service Manager for 15 years,