How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Neuro Doctor Your Own Question

Neuro Doctor
Neuro Doctor, Neurologist (MD)
Category: Neurology
Satisfied Customers: 3807
Experience:  American Board Certified Neurologist, Internal Medicine
56178413
Type Your Neurology Question Here...
Neuro Doctor is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Hello, I had an EEG done due to complaints of tingling and

Customer Question

Hello,
I had an EEG done due to complaints of tingling and stinging pains all over my body. The neurologists office called today to say that the test results were abnormal and that they want me to do a 48 hr outpatient EEG. I was not able to speak to the Neurologist only the assistant. Obviously I am a little worried. Should I be?
I know you don't have all my details...but I am so worried I guess I am looking for some sort of peace of mind.
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Neurology
Expert:  Neuro Doctor replied 1 year ago.
Hi, I am Neuro Doctor, an American Board Certified Neurologist with vast clinical experience.

There is no reason to worry because now they have asked for prolonged duration EEG (48 hours out patient EEG). When a neurologist asks for a prolonged duration eeg all it means is the routine eeg (regular eeg) has not given all the information they are looking for and by doing the prolonged duration eeg we can get more information but in no way it implies anything serious. The regular eeg or routine eeg is done for around 15 minutes to 45 minutes and this eeg because it is of short duration it may sometimes unable to identify the conditions we are looking for because this eeg finishes within a short duration so we order a prolonged duration eeg like 48 hours out patient eeg which is also called as an ambulatory eeg and ordering this prolonged duration eeg in no way implies that a neurologist is suspecting something serious, it only implies that the short duration eeg did not help so they are ordering a prolonged duration eeg.

Once again I reassure you that there is no need to worry because prolonged duration eeg is ordered and in no way ordering a prolonged duration eeg implies there is some serious health condition, all it implies is the neurologist did not get the info what they were looking for with the short duration regular or routine eeg so they are now ordering a prolonged duration eeg, and in no way it implies they are suspecting anything serious in nature so no need to worry from the perspective of serious diseases.

Please let me know if you have any further questions. And if you feel you have received the answer to your question please rate me Excellent to compensate me for the time and effort put by me in answering your question.

Best regards,

Neuro Doctor
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Thank you so much for your quick response. This does make me feel better.

Expert:  Neuro Doctor replied 1 year ago.
You are very welcome!

I once again reassure you that ordering a prolonged EEG does not in anyway imply they are suspecting anything serious, it is just a procedural approach, nothing more than that.

Please let me know if you have any further questions. And if you feel you have received the answer to your question please rate me Excellent to compensate me for the time and effort put by me in answering your question.
Neuro Doctor, Neurologist (MD)
Category: Neurology
Satisfied Customers: 3807
Experience: American Board Certified Neurologist, Internal Medicine
Neuro Doctor and other Neurology Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Hello again,
I have been seeing my neurologist not for the past couple months. I went to her due to constant tingling and some white dots in my brain mri. Since then, I have had a cervical spine MRI which was clear. I have also done a series of blood tests which were also negative. I did a spinal tap yesterday and I am waiting on the results of that.
I am not scheduled to see my neuro for a follow up until Dec and she is very hard to get a hold of.
In the mean time I was hoping you could give me some direction.
My symptoms to date are...tingling all over body.
Pressure in my head (especially when i turn my head to the left and right)
What i am concerned about tho is that within the last week the roof of my mouth (towards my back teeth) has become a bit soft and jelly like. It is not an open sore nor does it hurt, but it is not going away. It is a whitish color. Is this something that could be a result of whatever I might have going on neurologically? Should I contact my doctor ASAP or can I wait until my follow up in Dec?

Expert:  Neuro Doctor replied 1 year ago.
Hi, sorry I couldn't reply earlier as I was away from the computer and just returned.

The symptom you mentioned in the roof of mouth towards the back of the teeth appearing whitish in color, soft & jelly like does not appear to be anything serious in nature. And also it does not appear to be anything neurological. While for your other symptoms like the whole body tingling, the pressure feeling in the head, the white spots on the mri, and for the eeg test etc you need to follow up with your neurologist however for this other new symptom on the roof of the mouth you may see your family doctor because this new symptom is not neurological in nature. This new symptom might mean some local inflammation or some minor infection of the mucosa of the upper oral cavity and the cause for this condition need to be investigated and then appropriately treated. But once again it is n not neurological so you may see your family dr in this regard. I do not say it is an emergency that you need to see your doctor stat but try to see them as soon as possible considering that it is a new symptom, but once again I reassure you this does not sound like anything serious in nature.

Please let me know if you have any further questions. And if you feel you have received the answer to your question please rate me Excellent to compensate me for the time and effort put by me in answering your question.

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me from a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O. USA
< Last | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me from a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O. USA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Dr. Mark

    Neurologist (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    1985
    Neurosurgeon - Brain, spine, and peripheral nerve surgery
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/neurosurg/2009-10-06_120923_profile.jpg Dr. Mark's Avatar

    Dr. Mark

    Neurologist (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    1985
    Neurosurgeon - Brain, spine, and peripheral nerve surgery
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NE/neuromd2012/2012-6-6_171449_frank.64x64.jpg Dr. Frank's Avatar

    Dr. Frank

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    6629
    Board certified general Adult Neurologist, with experience in experimental neuroimaging and neurodiagnostics.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jesbrain2015/2010-5-21_162329_jack.jpg Jack Scariano Jr's Avatar

    Jack Scariano Jr

    Neurologist (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    1056
    Board Certified Neurology 1982 30 years experince. Also expert in Pain Medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PR/pradocs/2012-7-23_23649_201272323220JApicture105x113.64x64.jpg Dr. Bob's Avatar

    Dr. Bob

    Neurologist (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    2846
    Neurology & Int Medicine (US Trained): 20 yrs experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/HE/healthydoc/2011-7-22_193154_LevGrinman2.64x64.jpg healthydoc's Avatar

    healthydoc

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1848
    Board Certified U.S. Neurologist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BrainLifeDoc/2010-10-04_004701_AMF_2008_2_pix.jpg Dr. F's Avatar

    Dr. F

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    266
    Neurosurgeon with more than 20 years experience in practice and teaching.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/Phytube/2010-9-7_192331_PicVB1a_164by64.jpg Phytube.com's Avatar

    Phytube.com

    Neurologist (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    86
    Pediatric Neurology and Developmental Medicine with Special Research In Pain Medicine/Medications
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Neurologist
Neuro Doctor
Neuro Doctor
Full Time Neurologist
3802 Satisfied Customers
American Board Certified Neurologist, Internal Medicine