How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask California Pediatric Neurologist Your...

California Pediatric Neurologist
California Pediatric Neurologist, Pediatric Neurologist (MD)
Category: Neurology
Satisfied Customers: 11
Experience:  4 years experience, board certified in pediatrics, neurology, and clinical neurophysiology
39742383
Type Your Neurology Question Here...
California Pediatric Neurologist is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

If you wanted to get a second opinion on a MRI. How would you

Customer Question

If you wanted to get a second opinion on a MRI. How would you go about it. Also cost wise is there a big difference in a MRi of your whole back and just a lumbar of your lower back.If so about how much difference?
Submitted: 4 years ago.
Category: Neurology
Expert:  California Pediatric Neurologist replied 4 years ago.
You can get a second opinion from any radiologist that is willing to read it. You could check at the same place you did the MRI to see if another radiologist there would read it. Or go to a different center. If you are near a university center they should have academic radiologists that would probably give the most complete read. Another option is to call your insurance and ask them where they would cover you to go for a second opinion on the MRI. Whether or not you need just the lumbar spine vs. the entire spine depends on your symptoms, what the original study showed. For example, if it is for disc bulges just in that region, then you don't need the entire spine. There is a cost difference, but each center that does MRI's would charge different prices. Ask the individual MRI center. I hope this is helpful
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
If you have pain in your shoulder and upper back would that come from disc that are out in your neck? Also if you are complaining of pain in several area's of your back would it not be smart to have a full spine MRI?
Expert:  California Pediatric Neurologist replied 4 years ago.
With pain in the upper back and shoulder, an MRI of the cervical (upper) spine would be all that is necessary. Disc problems in the thoracic spine causes mid back pain, not shoulder pain. Disc problems in the lumbar (lower) spine cause lower back and leg pain. If there is pain in several locations then an entire spine would be useful.
California Pediatric Neurologist, Pediatric Neurologist (MD)
Category: Neurology
Satisfied Customers: 11
Experience: 4 years experience, board certified in pediatrics, neurology, and clinical neurophysiology
California Pediatric Neurologist and other Neurology Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me from a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O. USA
< Last | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me from a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O. USA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Dr. Mark

    Neurologist (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    1985
    Neurosurgeon - Brain, spine, and peripheral nerve surgery
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/neurosurg/2009-10-06_120923_profile.jpg Dr. Mark's Avatar

    Dr. Mark

    Neurologist (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    1985
    Neurosurgeon - Brain, spine, and peripheral nerve surgery
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NE/neuromd2012/2012-6-6_171449_frank.64x64.jpg Dr. Frank's Avatar

    Dr. Frank

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    6629
    Board certified general Adult Neurologist, with experience in experimental neuroimaging and neurodiagnostics.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jesbrain2015/2010-5-21_162329_jack.jpg Jack Scariano Jr's Avatar

    Jack Scariano Jr

    Neurologist (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    1056
    Board Certified Neurology 1982 30 years experince. Also expert in Pain Medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PR/pradocs/2012-7-23_23649_201272323220JApicture105x113.64x64.jpg Dr. Bob's Avatar

    Dr. Bob

    Neurologist (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    2846
    Neurology & Int Medicine (US Trained): 20 yrs experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/HE/healthydoc/2011-7-22_193154_LevGrinman2.64x64.jpg healthydoc's Avatar

    healthydoc

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1848
    Board Certified U.S. Neurologist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BrainLifeDoc/2010-10-04_004701_AMF_2008_2_pix.jpg Dr. F's Avatar

    Dr. F

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    266
    Neurosurgeon with more than 20 years experience in practice and teaching.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/Phytube/2010-9-7_192331_PicVB1a_164by64.jpg Phytube.com's Avatar

    Phytube.com

    Neurologist (MD)

    Satisfied Customers:

    86
    Pediatric Neurology and Developmental Medicine with Special Research In Pain Medicine/Medications