How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. Kaushik Your Own Question

Dr. Kaushik
Dr. Kaushik, Psychiatrist
Category: Mental Health
Satisfied Customers: 4018
Experience:  MD Psychiatry
9385906
Type Your Mental Health Question Here...
Dr. Kaushik is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I would like a different opinion than I have already gotten

Resolved Question:

I would like a different opinion than I have already gotten so if I have spoken to you please refer to someone else.

Hello, I am in treatment but can't seem to get to the bottom of a solution for myself. I am pretty sure I have OCD with repetitive thoughts about having a heart attack and I have had a full cardiac workup and I am fine. This is causing panic attacks and I am so deeply frustrated. Please help.
Submitted: 11 months ago.
Category: Mental Health
Expert:  Dr. Kaushik replied 11 months ago.

Greetings !

Welcome to the site.

I am Dr. Kaushik and i am a psychiatrist and i believe i can help you with OCD with my many years of experience in dealing with this condition.

While CBT ( ERP Therapy -- Exposure Response Prevention therapy ) is considered to be very effective for OCD, but you see OCD as well as Panic attacks ( both of which are included in anxiety disorders ) is associated with neurochemical imbalance in the brain ( low levels of serotonin ) therefore use of an anti depressant drug which balances out the serotonin levels in the brain is important to overcome OCD and panic attacks.

So i will humbly suggest you to ask your family doctor to start you on an anti depressant drug such as Lexapro ( generic name -- escitalopram ) at dose of 10-20 mg / day or Zoloft ( generic name -- sertraline ) at dose of 50-150 mg / day , any one of the these two drugs shall be used to counter the obsessional thoughts about having a panic attack ( i.e clinically termed as Anticipatory anxiety) plus the underlying panic attacks.

In addition to lexapro or zoloft you shall also ask your doctor to add klonopin ( clonazepam ) at dose of 0.5 mg mainly used PRN that is as and when required at times of overwhelming anxiety / obsessional thoughts.

The drug therapy comprising of lexapro / zoloft + clonazepam ( PRN use ) taken for 4-6 months in combination with CBT shall see through the obsessional thoughts for panic attacks as well cause remission of panic attacks.

So basically speaking CBT alone is not adequate to help you to deal with your problem therefore you should discuss the above mentioned regime with your doctor and get started on the same and you may expect improvement to start within 2-3 weeks but for complete recovery the drug regime needs to be taken for the above mentioned period.

I hope this helps.

Wish you all the best.

Please kindly leave a Positive rating if you are satisfied with the answer.

If there is any further assistance needed please feel free to ask using the reply button.

Regards.

Customer: replied 11 months ago.

Thank you Dr. Kaushik.

I have been suggested that Zoloft would be helpful. I have been resisting due to my fear of side effects along with the fact that I take a .5 mg of ativan most days of the week and I was fearing any withdrawal with that.

Do you think this thought is stuck because of chemicals or it's something I can break down with therapy. Obviously there is an underlying fear here. Thanks for all your help.

Expert:  Dr. Kaushik replied 11 months ago.
First let me address the side effects which you dread , you see none of the side effects which if at all develop upon use of zoloft or lexapro are permanent plus they only occur in a handful of individuals so why to unnecessary generalize them and apply on yourself before even trying the drug.

Secondly lexapro is a better drug than zoloft because it is faster acting and also associated with less side effects. You may start at a very modest dose of 5 mg of lexapro and after 1 week raise the dose to 10 mg / day and maintain on it and only if the need arises should you raise the dose to the maximum safe dose of 20 mg / day.

You see many doctors tend to overlook the basis due to which anxiety disorders like OCD and panic attacks develop and one of the basic reasons for their development is chemical imbalance which warrant use of drugs as mentioned above.
I will reiterate again that therapy shall not be able to achieve full remission on it's own and you will have to turn to use of one of these drugs.

Thirdly ativan like klonopin can be taken on PRN basis that is occasionally or irregularly when required and this way it onyl seldom develops withdrawal and since you have been managing ativan this way quite well so it is unlikely that you will develop any withdrawal.

In fact you may directly switch over to klonopin from ativan at the same dose of 0.5 mg without having to fear any sort of withdrawal side effects.

I hope this helps.

Wish you all the best.

Regards.
Dr. Kaushik, Psychiatrist
Category: Mental Health
Satisfied Customers: 4018
Experience: MD Psychiatry
Dr. Kaushik and 2 other Mental Health Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I can go as far as to say it could have resulted in saving my sons life and our entire family now knows what bipolar is and how to assist and understand my most wonderful son, brother and friend to all who loves him dearly. Thank you very much Corrie Moll Pretoria, South Africa
< Last | Next >
  • I can go as far as to say it could have resulted in saving my sons life and our entire family now knows what bipolar is and how to assist and understand my most wonderful son, brother and friend to all who loves him dearly. Thank you very much Corrie Moll Pretoria, South Africa
  • I thank-you so much! It really helped to have this information and confirmation. We will watch her carefully and get her in for the examination and US right away if things do not improve. God bless you as well! Claudia Albuquerque, NM
  • Outstanding response time less than 6 minutes. Answered the question professionally and with a great deal of compassion. Kevin Beaverton, OR
  • Suggested diagnosis was what I hoped and will take this info to my doctor's appointment next week.
    I feel better already! Thank you.
    Elanor Tracy, CA
  • Thank you to the Physician who answered my question today. The answer was far more informative than what I got from the Physicians I saw in person for my problem. Julie Lockesburg, AR
  • You have been more help than you know. I seriously don't know what my sisters situation would be today if you had not gone above and beyond just answering my questions. John and Stefanie Tucson, AZ
  • I have been dealing with an extremely serious health crisis for over three years, and one your physicians asked me more questions, gave me more answers and encouragement than a dozen different doctors who have been treating me!! Janet V Phoenix, AZ
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Dr. Keane

    Therapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1262
    Clinical Psychology PhD, Licensed Professional Counselor with experience in marriage/family, teens and child psychology.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/Dr.Keane/2013-8-20_204325_drkeane.64x64.jpg Dr. Keane's Avatar

    Dr. Keane

    Therapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1262
    Clinical Psychology PhD, Licensed Professional Counselor with experience in marriage/family, teens and child psychology.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RE/resolutions66/2011-1-17_05728_IMG8202smilingeditedforJustAnswer.64x64.jpg Elliott, LPCC, NCC's Avatar

    Elliott, LPCC, NCC

    Psychotherapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    5024
    35 years of experience as a Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor, National Certified Counselor and a college professor.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/formybunch/2010-12-06_191055_img_0975.jpg Kate McCoy, M.Ed, NBCC, LPC's Avatar

    Kate McCoy, M.Ed, NBCC, LPC

    Therapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    3733
    Over 20 years experience specializing in anxiety, depression, drug and alcohol, and relationship issues.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrAkiraOlsen/2012-2-20_746_AkiraADpicmain.64x64.jpg Dr. Olsen's Avatar

    Dr. Olsen

    Psychologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2336
    PsyD Psychologist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/norriem/2009-5-27_134249_nm.jpg Norman M.'s Avatar

    Norman M.

    Psychotherapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2193
    UK trained in hypnotherapy, counselling and psychotherapy and have been in private practice. ADHP(NC), DEHP(NC), UKCP Registered and ECP.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PsychologyProf/2010-07-15_171248_logos060400409.jpg Dr. Michael's Avatar

    Dr. Michael

    Psychologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2177
    Licensed Ph.D. Clinical Health Psychology with 30 years of experience in private practive and as a clinical psychology university professor.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KURTEMMERLING/2010-07-23_215531_just_ask_picture1.jpg Steven Olsen's Avatar

    Steven Olsen

    Therapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1727
    More than twenty years of expertise in counseling, psychological diagnosis and education