How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Kym Tolson, LCSW, CSAC, NBCCH Your Ow...

Kym Tolson, LCSW, CSAC, NBCCH
Kym Tolson, LCSW, CSAC, NBCCH, Therapist
Category: Mental Health
Satisfied Customers: 251
Experience:  Over 15 years of experience as a substance abuse therapist. I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker
25692555
Type Your Mental Health Question Here...
Kym Tolson, LCSW, CSAC, NBCCH is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

My husband has, in my opinion, an obsessive personality. His

Resolved Question:

My husband has, in my opinion, an obsessive personality. His obsessions are mostly not an issue, but they do interfere with our relationship on some level. The biggest obsession is what he calls "his passion and hobby". But his interest is "constant" and overbearing. It is also costly. He is interested in stereo gear. Simplistic enough. But when all consuming to the expense of getting work done or interacting with others about any other topic, I see it as a problem. My question is, is this obsessive and being that it is mostly not hurting anyone, do I have a right to be annoyed? He gets mad at me for not embracing his passion.
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Mental Health
Expert:  Kym Tolson, LCSW, CSAC, NBCCH replied 3 years ago.

Kym Tolson, LCSW, CS :

Hello, Thank you for using justanswer.com. I'm sorry to hear about this issue. It does sound like he is obsessive about this hobby of his and that it is effecting people in his life.

Kym Tolson, LCSW, CS :

If he is unwilling to acknowledge this nor seek a professional opinion about this, there is not much you can do. You ask "do I have a right to be annoyed?" Yes, you have a right to be annoyed but this doesn't help the situation much. All you really can do is express your concerns and then set boundaries around his discussion with you around the hobby. For example: you may decide you do not want to have "mutual" funds spent on this hobby. You may ask that he spend one or two nights a week with you 'date night" without discussing his hobby during that time. Or you may decide to set the boundary that he not discuss his passion with you nor involve you in any aspect of his hobby. If he respects your boundaries around this issue then you may be able to let go of this anger.

Kym Tolson, LCSW, CS :

If he accepts your boundaries and you are still unhappy you may decide to ask him to go to marriage counseling with you to discuss this issue further or that he seek help for the fact that his hobby is ruining your marriage. If he refuses this, I would suggest getting counseling of your own to help you make further decisions about your marriage.

Kym Tolson, LCSW, CS :

I hope this answer helps.

Kym Tolson, LCSW, CS :

Please let me know if you have further questions or if you need further clarification about this answer.

Kym Tolson, LCSW, CS :

All the best,

Kym Tolson, LCSW, CS :

Kym

Kym Tolson, LCSW, CS :

*Please click accept if you found this answer helpful.

Customer: replied 3 years ago.
Just knowing that this is truly "obsessive" is helpful. I understand the ploys you suggest and have tried these ideas over the 20 years we have been married. But of course he still obsesses. I mentioned that he has many obsessions, this being the most annoying. He also obsesses about sex, sleeping, drinking to excess, eating. Notice I don't mention something more positive like finishing the construction of our house which we started 12 years ago and still don't have kitchen cabinets, bathroom sink, floor covering, trim, etc., or exercise or helping friends with their needs, or yard work (which I do all of at age 63), or saving for retirement (which we have neither any savings of any retirement funds). Since he has other obsessions, do you feel he should most definately seek expert help? If so, which type of counselor would be most helpful (social worker, physchologist, pyschoanalist, family counselor)? We have gone to counseling several times, but no one seems to give us "straight forward" answers. Our relationship is always on the verge of shipwreck, but we must care enough about the relationship to keep trying.
Expert:  Kym Tolson, LCSW, CSAC, NBCCH replied 3 years ago.
Hello, thank you for this question as well. We are unable to diagnose people on this site but his symptoms sound like they are addiction related. I would suggest a therapist that specializes in addictive/obsessive behaviors. The Main problem you will most likely run into is that a person with these problems need to want to get help before any type of treatment will be successful. Usually until the have consequences they will not be interested in help. Your best move may be to seek help for yourself through an Alanon type setting or through counseling to help you make decisions for yourself to take care of you. Often times family members have to make major decisions before the afflicted person will.
I hope the answer helps as well. Please let me know if you have further questions.
All the best,
Kym

Please click accept if you fond this answer helpful.
Kym Tolson, LCSW, CSAC, NBCCH, Therapist
Category: Mental Health
Satisfied Customers: 251
Experience: Over 15 years of experience as a substance abuse therapist. I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker
Kym Tolson, LCSW, CSAC, NBCCH and 2 other Mental Health Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I can go as far as to say it could have resulted in saving my sons life and our entire family now knows what bipolar is and how to assist and understand my most wonderful son, brother and friend to all who loves him dearly. Thank you very much Corrie Moll Pretoria, South Africa
< Last | Next >
  • I can go as far as to say it could have resulted in saving my sons life and our entire family now knows what bipolar is and how to assist and understand my most wonderful son, brother and friend to all who loves him dearly. Thank you very much Corrie Moll Pretoria, South Africa
  • I thank-you so much! It really helped to have this information and confirmation. We will watch her carefully and get her in for the examination and US right away if things do not improve. God bless you as well! Claudia Albuquerque, NM
  • Outstanding response time less than 6 minutes. Answered the question professionally and with a great deal of compassion. Kevin Beaverton, OR
  • Suggested diagnosis was what I hoped and will take this info to my doctor's appointment next week.
    I feel better already! Thank you.
    Elanor Tracy, CA
  • Thank you to the Physician who answered my question today. The answer was far more informative than what I got from the Physicians I saw in person for my problem. Julie Lockesburg, AR
  • You have been more help than you know. I seriously don't know what my sisters situation would be today if you had not gone above and beyond just answering my questions. John and Stefanie Tucson, AZ
  • I have been dealing with an extremely serious health crisis for over three years, and one your physicians asked me more questions, gave me more answers and encouragement than a dozen different doctors who have been treating me!! Janet V Phoenix, AZ
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Dr. Keane

    Therapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1262
    Clinical Psychology PhD, Licensed Professional Counselor with experience in marriage/family, teens and child psychology.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/Dr.Keane/2013-8-20_204325_drkeane.64x64.jpg Dr. Keane's Avatar

    Dr. Keane

    Therapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1262
    Clinical Psychology PhD, Licensed Professional Counselor with experience in marriage/family, teens and child psychology.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RE/resolutions66/2011-1-17_05728_IMG8202smilingeditedforJustAnswer.64x64.jpg Elliott, LPCC, NCC's Avatar

    Elliott, LPCC, NCC

    Psychotherapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    5024
    35 years of experience as a Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor, National Certified Counselor and a college professor.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/formybunch/2010-12-06_191055_img_0975.jpg Kate McCoy, M.Ed, NBCC, LPC's Avatar

    Kate McCoy, M.Ed, NBCC, LPC

    Therapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    3733
    Over 20 years experience specializing in anxiety, depression, drug and alcohol, and relationship issues.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrAkiraOlsen/2012-2-20_746_AkiraADpicmain.64x64.jpg Dr. Olsen's Avatar

    Dr. Olsen

    Psychologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2336
    PsyD Psychologist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/norriem/2009-5-27_134249_nm.jpg Norman M.'s Avatar

    Norman M.

    Psychotherapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2193
    UK trained in hypnotherapy, counselling and psychotherapy and have been in private practice. ADHP(NC), DEHP(NC), UKCP Registered and ECP.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PsychologyProf/2010-07-15_171248_logos060400409.jpg Dr. Michael's Avatar

    Dr. Michael

    Psychologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2177
    Licensed Ph.D. Clinical Health Psychology with 30 years of experience in private practive and as a clinical psychology university professor.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KURTEMMERLING/2010-07-23_215531_just_ask_picture1.jpg Steven Olsen's Avatar

    Steven Olsen

    Therapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1727
    More than twenty years of expertise in counseling, psychological diagnosis and education
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Mental Health Professional
Kym Tolson, LCSW, CSAC, NBCCH
Kym Tolson, LCSW, CSAC, NBCCH
Substance Abuse Therapist
251 Satisfied Customers
Over 15 years of experience as a substance abuse therapist. I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker