How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Tamara Your Own Question

Tamara
Tamara, Counselor & Psychotherapist
Category: Mental Health
Satisfied Customers: 1072
Experience:  20+ yrs Private Practice; Cert. Master Therapist; National Board Certified; APA Board Certified
Type Your Mental Health Question Here...
Tamara is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Im very interested in a second opinion or Dr. Wm. Glasser'

Resolved Question:

I'm very interested in a "second opinion" or Dr. Wm. Glasser's "Choice Theory".

I've been under treatment for arthritis for nearly 15 years (I'm 53). I had a total knee replacement in 2001. I have also been taking anti-depressents for at least 20 years.

My Psychologist, who I've met with twice has told me to read the book, which I have, AND, that, the depression & arthritis are literally "totally your own fault". I'm both confused and angered by this - could somebody comment please?
Do most people in the Mental Health field really believe people CHOOSE to be depressed, anxious, have schizophrenia! That they CHOOSE to have arthritis as well as other autoimmune diseases?

I'm considering bailing on this "seek counseling" idea because I can't get my head around actually choosing these things! I acknowledge I've made some poor choices in my life - but not any diferently from the people all around me - ? Thanks Sara
Submitted: 4 years ago.
Category: Mental Health
Expert:  Tamara replied 4 years ago.
Hi servus. I can understand why you would be angered and confused by this concept. As you have read the book, I won't go into a lot of detail around the theory. But basically, according to Glasser, our behavior is made up of acting, thinking, feeling and physiology. Glasser says that we have control or choice about how we think and act, but we little choice over feelings and physiology. As these four components are closely intertwined, the choices we make in our thinking and acting greatly affect our feelings and physiology. Technically then, we can choose how our lives will be.

I don't think this means that your depression and arthritis are "totally your own fault." But I do agree with the basic tenets of the theory. We CAN control our thoughts and actions, and our thoughts directly influence our feelings and how we take care of ourselves physically. I don't think the point of this is to make you feel bad and guilty. The point is to help empower you to realize that you have much more control over your moods and your life than you think you have. This isn't a bad awareness.

I would encourage you not to bail on the counseling idea. There are many benefits you can derive from this process. But if you don't feel you have a good fit with your psychologist because of their theoretical orientation, please look for another one. However, you might want to talk with your psychologist first to clarify their position on this theory. I would imagine the book was to introduce you to this concept, not to leave you with the feeling that these things are your fault.

Best wishes, and please let me know if I can answer any further questions. Tamara





Tamara, Counselor & Psychotherapist
Category: Mental Health
Satisfied Customers: 1072
Experience: 20+ yrs Private Practice; Cert. Master Therapist; National Board Certified; APA Board Certified
Tamara and other Mental Health Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Are you saying that you agree with Dr. Glasser, that thru our choice of THOUGHTS, we cause our own physical disabilities, such as high cholesterol or autoimmune disease?
Expert:  Tamara replied 4 years ago.
No necessarily, although there are certainly people who do believe that. What I believe is that we can choose our thoughts and actions, and this influences our feelings and physiology. I am not comfortable saying that we cause our physical disabilities, but I won't say we don't have any control over them either. There are numerous studies showing that thinking and behavior does influence physical problems, from cancer to blood pressure. So to dismiss the idea outright, in my opinion, would not be wise. But that doesn't mean I think anyone is to blame for their physical problems. Again, I see this theory as being beneficial from the perspective of encouraging us to be more proactive in how we choose to live, because the effects of our choices can be more far-reaching than we think. Tamara
Tamara, Counselor & Psychotherapist
Category: Mental Health
Satisfied Customers: 1072
Experience: 20+ yrs Private Practice; Cert. Master Therapist; National Board Certified; APA Board Certified
Tamara and other Mental Health Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I can go as far as to say it could have resulted in saving my sons life and our entire family now knows what bipolar is and how to assist and understand my most wonderful son, brother and friend to all who loves him dearly. Thank you very much Corrie Moll Pretoria, South Africa
< Last | Next >
  • I can go as far as to say it could have resulted in saving my sons life and our entire family now knows what bipolar is and how to assist and understand my most wonderful son, brother and friend to all who loves him dearly. Thank you very much Corrie Moll Pretoria, South Africa
  • I thank-you so much! It really helped to have this information and confirmation. We will watch her carefully and get her in for the examination and US right away if things do not improve. God bless you as well! Claudia Albuquerque, NM
  • Outstanding response time less than 6 minutes. Answered the question professionally and with a great deal of compassion. Kevin Beaverton, OR
  • Suggested diagnosis was what I hoped and will take this info to my doctor's appointment next week.
    I feel better already! Thank you.
    Elanor Tracy, CA
  • Thank you to the Physician who answered my question today. The answer was far more informative than what I got from the Physicians I saw in person for my problem. Julie Lockesburg, AR
  • You have been more help than you know. I seriously don't know what my sisters situation would be today if you had not gone above and beyond just answering my questions. John and Stefanie Tucson, AZ
  • I have been dealing with an extremely serious health crisis for over three years, and one your physicians asked me more questions, gave me more answers and encouragement than a dozen different doctors who have been treating me!! Janet V Phoenix, AZ
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Dr. Keane

    Therapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1262
    Clinical Psychology PhD, Licensed Professional Counselor with experience in marriage/family, teens and child psychology.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/Dr.Keane/2013-8-20_204325_drkeane.64x64.jpg Dr. Keane's Avatar

    Dr. Keane

    Therapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1262
    Clinical Psychology PhD, Licensed Professional Counselor with experience in marriage/family, teens and child psychology.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RE/resolutions66/2011-1-17_05728_IMG8202smilingeditedforJustAnswer.64x64.jpg Elliott, LPCC, NCC's Avatar

    Elliott, LPCC, NCC

    Psychotherapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    5024
    35 years of experience as a Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor, National Certified Counselor and a college professor.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/formybunch/2010-12-06_191055_img_0975.jpg Kate McCoy, M.Ed, NBCC, LPC's Avatar

    Kate McCoy, M.Ed, NBCC, LPC

    Therapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    3733
    Over 20 years experience specializing in anxiety, depression, drug and alcohol, and relationship issues.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrAkiraOlsen/2012-2-20_746_AkiraADpicmain.64x64.jpg Dr. Olsen's Avatar

    Dr. Olsen

    Psychologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2336
    PsyD Psychologist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/norriem/2009-5-27_134249_nm.jpg Norman M.'s Avatar

    Norman M.

    Psychotherapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2193
    UK trained in hypnotherapy, counselling and psychotherapy and have been in private practice. ADHP(NC), DEHP(NC), UKCP Registered and ECP.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PsychologyProf/2010-07-15_171248_logos060400409.jpg Dr. Michael's Avatar

    Dr. Michael

    Psychologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2177
    Licensed Ph.D. Clinical Health Psychology with 30 years of experience in private practive and as a clinical psychology university professor.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KURTEMMERLING/2010-07-23_215531_just_ask_picture1.jpg Steven Olsen's Avatar

    Steven Olsen

    Therapist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1727
    More than twenty years of expertise in counseling, psychological diagnosis and education