How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Bhavik Joshi Your Own Question

Bhavik Joshi
Bhavik Joshi, Computer Software Engineer
Category: Mac
Satisfied Customers: 377
Experience:  Product Developer at Computer Science Corporation
94617175
Type Your Mac Question Here...
Bhavik Joshi is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I have imovie 10.1.2 (I think). I've made many videos so I

Customer Question

I have imovie 10.1.2 (I think). I've made many videos so I do know how to work the program (even if my technical vocabulary is lacking). However, it is crashing. I can get one video clip in but even adding one more crashes in. I have a lot of videos saved and I don't know if I should re-install. I don't want to lose anything.
Submitted: 7 months ago.
Category: Mac
Expert:  Bhavik Joshi replied 7 months ago.

Hi Welcome to JustAnswer. I will try to helping you out in it.

Expert:  Bhavik Joshi replied 7 months ago.

Trashing iMovie's preference file will often fix problems.

Go to your User (Home) folder Library/Preferences (not the Library folder at the top level in Macintosh HD). If you are on Lion (Mac OS X 10.7) or Mountain Lion (10.8), the User Library folder is hidden. To access it, click on Go in the Finder menu bar, then press the Option key - the Library folder will appear in the drop down list.

In the Library/Preferences folder, locate a file named "com.apple.iMovieApp.plist". With iMovie closed, drag this file to the Desktop. When next opened, iMovie will create a fresh preference file with the default settings. If iMovie now runs OK, you can change these settings in the menu item "IMovie>Preferences" if desired. Also, it's now safe to drag the old preference file to the Trash. Trashing the file will not harm your existing Events or Projects.

Expert:  Bhavik Joshi replied 7 months ago.

Hi Susan,

Does your issue still persist ? If not, Could you please provide rating to me. If you have any questions please let me know.