How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Mike Your Own Question
Mike
Mike, Mac Medic
Category: Mac
Satisfied Customers: 8944
Experience:  Over 20 years IT experience with Apple computers in publishing, marketing and design.
25267123
Type Your Mac Question Here...
Mike is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

My saved documents used to have an icon that was a preview of that doc

Customer Question

My saved documents used to have an icon that was a preview of that document, but now it is just a generic Quark icon. How do I fix that?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Mac
Expert:  Viet - Mac Tech replied 1 year ago.
Hello! Thank you for your question. I am a licensed computer professional with over ten years of experience, and I will be assisting you today.
I'm sorry about the issue. Are these Word documents or something else?
Please reply at the box below. Thank you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
QuarkXpress documents
Expert:  Viet - Mac Tech replied 1 year ago.
Are you still able to open / edit any of those QuarkXpress documents?
Was there any update or change recently to your computer that may have caused the issue?
Please reply at the box below. Thank you.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Yes, I can open/edit those documents. I had a "trojan" that I recently had to remove and the problem started then.
Expert:  Viet - Mac Tech replied 1 year ago.
Do you open a document directly in Finder? Or do you open a document by opening QuarkXpress application first, then use the Open option in the QuarkXpress application? Please let me know. Thank you.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I just double click on the icon
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
However, it also works when I use the Open option in the QuarkXpress application
Expert:  Viet - Mac Tech replied 1 year ago.
Do you mean you double-click on the icon of each documents in order to open it?
Does it open in the correct application (i.e., QuarkXpress, etc.)? Or did it open in a different application previously?
What's the extension of those documents, such as .doc?
When you said previously, the icon was a preview of that document, do you mean you actually could read the content of it? Or it was the same generic preview icon for all documents?
Was QuarkXpress updated recently?
Please let me know. Thank you.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I double click the icon and the document opens in Quark as it always has. QuarkXpress does NOT have file extensions in Mac. Yes, I could actually see/read the preview of the document. Quark WAS update, but AFTER the problem began.
Expert:  Viet - Mac Tech replied 1 year ago.
What's your QuarkXpress version? Thank you.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Version 9
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I also have version 10 and it does the same thing in that version.
Expert:  Viet - Mac Tech replied 1 year ago.
Can you please download and install the AdoView quicklook item at the website below and check:
http://wikisend.com/download/282840/adoview_ql_installer.zip
Please let me know. Thank you.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Nothing happened
Expert:  Viet - Mac Tech replied 1 year ago.
I'm sorry, were you able to download the file "adoview_ql_installer.zip"? If yes, what happens when you open / install it? Does it show anything? Please let me know. Thank you.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Yes, but it shows nothing!!
Expert:  Viet - Mac Tech replied 1 year ago.
Select a document file and choose File > Get Info or press Command (⌘)–I.
Click the triangle next to Name & Extension to expand the section and see the filename extension for the file.
To show or hide the filename extension, select or deselect “Hide extension.”
Then let me know the extension of it. Thank you.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
qxp
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
This should be easy for anyone who knows Quark well!
Expert:  Viet - Mac Tech replied 1 year ago.
I'm sorry, I'm not sure about this issue, so let me know the issue to other experts. Thank you.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I have no more time. Good bye!
Expert:  Viet - Mac Tech replied 1 year ago.
Don't worry, you can always come back tomorrow or any time when you are available; we will email you; we guarantee our service. Thank you.
Expert:  Mike replied 1 year ago.
Please go to the Apple logo at the upper left of your computer screen to About This Mac and give me this information:
The exact system Version (listed right under Mac OS X)
Processor
Memory
Expert:  Mike replied 1 year ago.
Open Terminal in Applications / Utilities copy and paste this line then hit Return and restart the computer:
rm ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.finder.plist

Related Mac Questions