How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Michelle Your Own Question

Michelle
Michelle, Mac Technician
Category: Mac
Satisfied Customers: 982
Experience:  Apple Computers and Mobile support with 12 years of exp.
70409726
Type Your Mac Question Here...
Michelle is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

App store, preview, and others will not open in mavericks

Customer Question

app store, preview, and others will not open in mavericks
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Mac
Expert:  Michelle replied 1 year ago.
Hi, and welcome! My name is ***** ***** I am excited to get started with you.
Usually when multiple system applications quit unexpectedly, there is an issue with your operating system and will result in a re-installation. Although re-installing your operating system does not erase data, , do you have a backup of your data?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
a lot my my apps need updating but since I cannot open the app store program i can not update them! i click on the app store icon and its bounces a few times but nothing happens, same for preview, terminal app, etc
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
i do not have a back up
Expert:  Michelle replied 1 year ago.
Re-installing your operating system does not erase your data. However it is always a good idea to have a backup incase an error occurs. Are you chatting from the troubled mac? I would like to walk you though scanning your hard drive for errors first before re-installing your OS
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
i done disk utility, etc. and no errors
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
also mackeeper
Expert:  Michelle replied 1 year ago.
Okay good. So there are no hardware related issues so it is highly unlikely that you will experience data loss during the re-installation.
To re-install your OS,
1. Restart your Mac while pressing and holding Command+ R
2. Continue to hold until the apple logo appears.
3. The Mac OS X utilities screen will appears. Choose re-install Mac OS X
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
i will try....be right back!
Expert:  Michelle replied 1 year ago.
The installation itself will take about 45 mins. When it is complete, you must run software updates over and over until there are no updates available. Re-installing your OS will install the original version. So you will need to perform a series of updates to get you back to where you were.
I will be here
Expert:  Michelle replied 1 year ago.
Hi,
Just checking in to see how the re-installation went.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
It's still downloading!!!
Expert:  Michelle replied 1 year ago.
Wow! I thought it would have finished by now. The progression of the installation does depend on your internet speed. Alright, I will stand by.
Expert:  Michelle replied 1 year ago.
Hello,
Checking in again. Its been a few days so I am sure the install is complete by now. Were you able to complete your updates after the install?