How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Bob Cook Your Own Question

Bob Cook
Bob Cook, Mac Genius
Category: Mac
Satisfied Customers: 618
Experience:  I have sold Macintosh Computers since 1984. I started Sun Remarketing in 1983 and sold over 25,000.
16295453
Type Your Mac Question Here...
Bob Cook is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Adobe Bridge CS4 fails whenever start even though I reinstalled

This answer was rated:

Adobe Bridge CS4 fails whenever start even though I reinstalled it. Disk utility checking permissions gave these (uncorrectable) errors; Could those things be the problem, or what do you think is?
3/3/09 8:06:48 PM Disk Utility[225] Warning: SUID file "System/Library/Filesystems/AppleShare/afpLoad" has been modified and will not be repaired.

3/3/09 8:06:48 PM Disk Utility[225] Warning: SUID file "usr/bin/setregion" has been modified and will not be repaired.

3/3/09 8:06:54 PM Disk Utility[225] Warning: SUID file "System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Install.framework/Versions/A/Resources/runner" has been modified and will not be repaired.

3/3/09 8:06:55 PM Disk Utility[225] Warning: SUID file "System/Library/Printers/IOMs/LPRIOM.plugin/Contents/MacOS/LPRIOMHelper" has been modified and will not be repaired.
Have you tried to repair the disk permissions from the disk utilities program?
Customer: replied 7 years ago.
Yes - those two were ones it could not repair
Do you have any other users assigned? Are you in as the Admin?
Customer: replied 7 years ago.
No other users/ I am listed as Admin.
Re-create the Bridge preferences and purge the cache.
You can re-create the Bridge preferences to eliminate problems caused by damaged preferences.

To re-create the Bridge preferences:

Hold down the Option key and start Bridge
Choose Reset Preferences and Purge Entire Thumbnail Cache
Choose OK
Note: Re-creating the Bridge CS4 preferences files restores settings to their defaults. Some Labels and Ratings may be lost.

You can also manually remove the Bridge cache.

Quit Bridge
Navigate to /Users/[username]/Library/Caches/Adobe/Bridge CS4/
Remove the Cache folder
Bob Cook and 2 other Mac Specialists are ready to help you