How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Aggie Mac Master Your Own Question

Aggie Mac Master
Aggie Mac Master, Mac Genius
Category: Mac
Satisfied Customers: 316
Experience:  B.S. Biology from Texas A&M University and Long-time Mac User
Type Your Mac Question Here...
Aggie Mac Master is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

just bought a used G4. It is wanting to do updates. How ...

This answer was rated:

just bought a used G4. It is wanting to do updates. How to I get the master password. I didn''t get a book or any info and I amnew to using a mac..... please help
Do you have the installation disc for OS X?

If not, its ok, there are just two different procedures. The one with the installation disc is easier.
Customer: replied 8 years ago.
no, computer used, seems to be fresh install of tiger
Ok try this,

- Reboot

- Hold apple + s down after you hear the chime.

-When you get text prompt enter in these terminal commands to create a brand new admin account (hitting return after each line):

mount -uw /

rm /var/db/.AppleSetupDone

shutdown -h now

After rebooting you should have a brand new admin account. When you login as the new admin you can simply delete the old one.

Let me know if this method works for you. If not, I will try something else


Aggie Mac Master and other Mac Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 8 years ago.

Yes it works fine. How do I delete old admin account??


Customer: replied 8 years ago.

How do I delete old admin account??


1. from the Apple menu, select System Preferences

2. from the View menu, select Accounts

3. Select the name of the old admin account and under the list of accounts, click - (the minus sign)

4. The files and directories will be moved to the /Users/Deleted Users/ folder; you may retrieve them from there and delete them or move them to your own account if you wish.

5. Click Delete or Ok to complete the deletion of the user account. To delete the account without saving the user's files and directories click Delete Immediately.

6. You're done!
Aggie Mac Master and other Mac Specialists are ready to help you