How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Zoey, JD Your Own Question
Zoey, JD
Zoey, JD, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 25411
Experience:  Active member of the NYS bar since 1989
18321761
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Zoey, JD is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Second opinion] i got a speeding ticket on dec 27 2016 at

Customer Question

Second opinion] i got a speeding ticket on dec 27 2016 at perry county .On my ticket it is mentioned that NO court apperance is required but on jan 7th 2017 i got a notice to appear to court
JA: Because traffic laws vary from place to place, can you tell me what state this is in?
Customer: illinois
JA: Has anything been filed or reported?
Customer: i got a notice saying to appear to the court but on the ticket office mentioned not to appear at the court
JA: Anything else you want the lawyer to know before I connect you?
Customer: just i have a question that whether i should appear to the court or not ?? or just can i mail a cheque to them ??
Submitted: 3 months ago.
Category: Legal
Customer: replied 3 months ago.
anyone there ??
Expert:  Zoey, JD replied 3 months ago.

Hi,

I'm Zoey and I'll be assisting you. I'm reviewing your question now. Please be patient while I research and compose a reply for you.

Expert:  Zoey, JD replied 3 months ago.

Call the court and ask to speak to the clerk, because if you got a notice from the court saying you have to be there, the court will be expecting you. You don't want a warrant to issue for your arrest.

Sometimes, the police will write up a ticket but when it's reviewed other issues arise requiring a court appearance. Or it could be a mistake. One way or the other, you need to know for sure and a conversation with the clerk should let you know whether you are on the court calendar after all and whether you can avoid that by simply mailing in a check.

Expert:  Zoey, JD replied 3 months ago.

Just checking in to see if you need more help or any clarification of my answer. If so, please reply here on this question thread.