How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Chris T., JD Your Own Question
Chris T., JD
Chris T., JD, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 4782
Experience:  Experienced in both state and federal court.
45002201
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Chris T., JD is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Need to purchase a business. I need lawyer to review the

Customer Question

need to purchase a business. I need lawyer to review the purchasing order document. It is only one page
JA: What state are you in? It matters because laws vary by location. Has anything been filed or reported?
Customer: Va
JA: Anything else you want the lawyer to know before I connect you?
Customer: i need to send the document for the lawyer to review and give me a call
Submitted: 13 days ago.
Category: Legal
Customer: replied 13 days ago.
i need to send the one page document for review. let me know where to send it?
Expert:  Chris T., JD replied 13 days ago.

Hello. I'll be happy to assist you.

I can take a look at it if you can attach it to this chat using the paperclip icon above.

Customer: replied 13 days ago.
please let me know if you receive it
Customer: replied 13 days ago.
hello
Expert:  Chris T., JD replied 13 days ago.

Hello. I just got back today and saw this. I'll review it and get back with you shortly.

Expert:  Chris T., JD replied 13 days ago.

OK. I've read the agreement. It seems to be in order from a legal perspective. I say that because I cannot tell you whether this is a good deal, or give you any advice regarding what you want out of the deal. What I can tell you is that it looks legally proper. In order for a contract to be valid, you need three basic elements: 1) an offer; 2) acceptance of that offer; and 3) some consideration for the offer, which is usually money. Assuming this offer is accepted, you have all of that, and it appears to meet legal requirements. Again, I can't say whether this is a good deal or you are getting what you want out of it, I can only tell you that it's a legally valid contract.

Customer: replied 13 days ago.
What is the best number to call you to discuss the template?
Expert:  Chris T., JD replied 13 days ago.

I'm sorry, but I can only communicate with you through this chat. I am, however, happy to answer any questions you have.

Customer: replied 13 days ago.
Does it mean I can take my deposits back if the deal doesn't work?
Expert:  Chris T., JD replied 13 days ago.

If you break the contract after you sign, you'll lose the earnest money. If the other side backs out, you won't lose it.

Customer: replied 13 days ago.
if I am not able to finanace, can I still get my deposit back and how much of that am i losing?
Expert:  Chris T., JD replied 13 days ago.

If you can't secure financing, you will lose your earnest money, which is $13k. If you think that is a real concern, you should work that into the contract, or lower your earnest money.