Thank you for using JustAnswer.
In California, there are several statutory authorities that specifically regulate the retention of medical records. For instance, a physician who treats Medi-Cal patients must retain the records of Medi-Cal patients for three years after the date that the last service was rendered under the Medi-Cal program, while physicians who are Qualified Medical Examiners in Workers’ Compensation cases must retain all medical-legal reports for five years from the date of the employee’s evaluation. A physician in California is only required by law to retain a minor’s record until the patient reaches age nineteen (19). And the retention period is 2 years for patients insured by a Knox-Keene health plan. MIEC recommends 8-10 years.
Note these are legally required record retention periods. Many doctors will keep them longer.
Hope that clears things up a bit. If you have any other questions, please let me know. If not, and you have not yet, please rate my answer AND press the "submit" button, if applicable.
Please note that I don't get any credit for the time and effort that I spent on this answer unless and until you rate it positively (3 or more stars). Look for the stars on your screen (★★★★★). You may need to scroll left/right/up/down to see these stars, but note that the rating is what closes out this question, so it is necessary that you do so.
Thank you, ***** ***** luck to you!