In Georgia, driving with an expired registration is not a traffic offense. That is, it is considered a misdemeanor which is a crime, and it carries a maximum possible penalty of a year in jail and/or a fine of anywhere from $500 to $1,000. Additionally, a second such conviction within 5 years of the first one carries a 10-day minimum jail sentence and/or a fine of up to $2,500.
While you probably will be able to avoid jail on a first offense, you can end up with a criminal record, and that's not advisable. It would therefore be in your best interest to have a lawyer with you on your court date, to see if this case can somehow be bargained down to a traffic infraction.
Or, since in Georgia, if you fight a case like this, the DA has to prove you knew your registration was suspended, this may be a case you would want to take to trial, since what you knew or didn't know could be difficult to prove. Your best chance of winning a trial, or getting a reduction in charges would be with the services of a lawyer.
If you have a lawyer, bring him with you to your court date, and he'll take it from there. If you don't, plead NOT guilty at your arraignment, which is what you need to do to keep all of your rights open. Then, if you can afford to hire a lawyer, you can ask the court for a continuance to come back to court with an attorney. If you cannot hire a lawyer, you can ask the court to appoint you a public defender.