How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask LegalKnowledge Your Own Question
LegalKnowledge
LegalKnowledge, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 23918
Experience:  9+ years handling Legal, Real Estate, Criminal Law, Family Law, Traffic matters.
9540344
Type Your Legal Question Here...
LegalKnowledge is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I want to file a complaint against a d.a. in Los Angeles

Customer Question

Customer: My name is ***** ***** I want to file a complaint against a d.a. in Los Angeles regarding with holding discovery and misconduct
JA: Thanks. Can you give me any more details about your issue?
Customer: My fiancé was picked up last December for a murder charge four years ago, what little evidence that have come with is extremely circumstantial at best. the pre trial was set for yesterday, (the third time it has been continued) we still don't have the complete discovery, there is alledgedly some dna at a laboratory that has been sitting in inventory for two months and the tech stated on 12/22 she would get it to the D.A. and all of a sudden when it is time for court she has"disappeared" that is what he has told the judge - I can hardly believe this can be true
JA: OK got it. Last thing — JustAnswer charges a fee (generally around $36) to post your type of question to Legal Experts (you only pay if satisfied). There are a couple customers ahead of you. We can help you for less if you're not in a rush. Are you willing to wait a bit?
Customer: I have 30 min till I leave work or you can email me later is fine my email is***@******.***
JA: OK. Now I'm going to take you to a page to place a secure deposit with JustAnswer. Don't worry, this chat is saved. After that, we will finish helping you.
Submitted: 10 months ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  LegalKnowledge replied 10 months ago.

Is your fiance represented by legal counsel? Also, she they say the tech has disappeared, they mean they can not find her?

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
He has a public defender, I honestly can't afford an attorney. The D.A. informed the judge that after the 22nd of December, she has not been to work, and the Lab is stating they don't know when she will be back, and that she is the only one who can pull the evidence from inventory
Customer: replied 10 months ago.
The evidence they have are a phone call to the victim on the day, his dna on a cigarette in another part of the house, and a bandage with his blood from a bathroom that was from donating plasma which they have documented proof of.
Expert:  LegalKnowledge replied 10 months ago.

Thank you. His PD should file a motion to compel. The DA can not withhold evidence and if they do, the Judge could dismiss the case, as a result of the misconduct. The Judge can step in and advise the DA to obtain these results/lab work and the Judge will also find it hard to believe that nobody 1) knows when she will be back unless she is missing and 2) that nobody else has access to this. If she got fired tomorrow or quit, someone would have to take over and access this, so their argument lacks merit. If there is misconduct by the prosecution, his PD could ask that the case be dismissed.

Please let me know if you have any follow up questions or need any clarification on something which I stated above. Also, remember to rate my service at the top of this page, before exiting the site, so I can receive credit for my help. I hope you found it to be Excellent! Only rate my answer when you are 100% satisfied. If you feel the need to click either of the two lower ratings to the left, please stop and reply to me. I want to make sure your experience with the site was as pleasurable as possible and that you are satisfied with the help I provided.

Expert:  LegalKnowledge replied 10 months ago.

I just wanted to follow up and see if you had any other questions or needed me to clarify something. I am here to help, so please let me know. Thanks!

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
His PD seemed to be fine with putting the case over yet again till next month only tried to file a motion to suppress not dismiss, Sometimes it seems like the PD is working with the DA
Expert:  LegalKnowledge replied 10 months ago.

I do understand. If he asked for a continuance, he likely wants to still work on the case and see if this person "appears" especially if the results are favorable.

Related Legal Questions