Ask a Lawyer and Get Answers to Your Legal Questions
Hello and welcome! My name is ***** ***** I will try my level best to help with your situation or get you to someone who can.
is there a statute of limitations on how long I have to change a vehicle into my name once I get the bill of sale in the state of Delaware
It isn't really a "statute of limitations", it is just a requirement by law. Under DE law, a purchaser must register a car in their name within 30 days of purchase if the purchase is from a private seller. The vehicle must also pass a vehicle inspection. If the vehicle is purchased from a dealer, then they will submit the paperwork for registering the vehicle.
According to the DE DMV: Delaware law requires all buyers of Delaware-registered vehicles to make application for a new certificate of title immediately following the purchase of the vehicle; but in no case, more than 30 days after the purchase of the vehicle. A penalty fee is charged for the issuance of a new certificate of title when the application is received more than 30 days after the vehicle was purchased.