Good evening. I'll be assisting you with your question.
Could you explain your situation a little further?
Under Oklahoma law, a judgment creditor has five years from the date that the judgment creditor files the judgment with the appropriate court clerk to collect his judgment. During this time, he can pursue any legal means of getting the debtor to pay the judgment. If the statute of limitations expires, the judgment creditor cannot legally force the debtor to pay the balance remaining on the judgment debt.
In Florida, the time limit is much longer, 20 years.
I am from Puerto Rico and I own money there but I live now in OK and may moving to Florida in the near future, I know there are some statute of limitation for money collection in both states,
OK. The statute in OK is 5 years, and it is 20 years in Florida.
I believes that is for state judgements
I mean for foreing jugements
I am under the impression that Ok for foreing judgements is 3 years and 5 in florida
It would be the same since a foreign judgment in a state is given "full faith and credit" under the US Constitution in another state. Essentially, that means that if the judgement is validated in that state, they get full faith and credit under that state's laws. See here.
Now, if the judgement is not validated and essentially made into a state judgment, you are correct, it is 3 and 5.
Not sure what you mean by not validated and becoming a state judgement
If a person has a judgment from state A, they can present it to state B and have it "domesticated," thus making it subject to state laws, just the same as any other state judgment.
how many years do they have to validate the judgement
once it is notified by the court
They can do it any time during the period it is still active in the "forum state." So, if State A has a statute of limitations of 5 years, and State B is 20, and they are trying to get a judgment from state A domesticated in State B, they have 5 years - the statute of limitations in State A.
this is confusing not sure when the 3 and 5 year apply????
It is confusing. You have to assume the judgement will be "domesticated" and will be under the statute of limitations of the state you are in.
then should be 3 or 5 in OK
Glad to help.
If I can't do anything else for you, please remember to "rate" my answer before you go. I'm not sure how helpful you will find it since it is written for lawyers, but the link I provided should help you understand.
what it needs to happen for the judgement to be only 3 or 5 in florida
They need to not try to domesticate it in Florida. If they do, it will be 20.
I'm glad I could help. If I can't do anything else for you, please remember to "rate" my answer.
Is there something else I can do for you?
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).