Have Legal Questions? Ask a Lawyer Now.
Hi, my name is XXXXX XXXXX I will be glad to assist you
Can you tell me under what section of the Code the ticket is written ? (It should say it right on the ticket)
I meant what particular section of the Traffic Code ?
on the right above corner of the ticket there are 3 boxes:
* is the one marked
I'm not sure where is the traffic code located?.
When the police issue any kind of ticket, they have to include the section of the California Vehicle Code that was violated because otherwise the defendant would not be able to prepare a defense if he/she did not know what section was violated and the ticket would have to be dismissed. So, it has to specify somewhere on the ticket what specific section of the California Vehicle Code was violated. They might abbreviate it as Ca. Veh.Code Sect.____
I see two numbers:
15620 (A) UC -Unattended child in vehi
16028 (A) UC- No Ins
Thank you, Please give me a moment to look them up.
ON the 16028, Did you have automobile insurance ?
not in my wallet when they asked. I had insurance coverage, I just didn't have the card on me.
Thank you for your replies, Loly,
I think you are in pretty good shape.
1. It is a violation under California Vehicle Code Section 15620 to leave a child under the age of 6 in an automobile unattended. The fine for this is $100 and I am reprinting below that section of the Code to reassure you.
2. It is a violation under California Vehicle Code 16028 to fail to produce proof of insurance when asked for such proof by a police officer. There is no fine if the motorist (you) can show proof to the Court that you did, in fact have insurance at the time the police officer asked you for proof. So, all you have to do is bring your insurance card to prove to the Court that you had insurance at that time and the ticket will be dismissed
Neither section carries any points, so your driver's license will remain intact.
I am reprinting the pertinent part of California Vehicle Code Section 15620
15620. (a) A parent, legal guardian, or other person responsible for a child who is 6 years of age or younger may not leave that child inside a motor vehicle without being subject to the supervision of a person who is 12 years of age or older, under either of the following circumstances:
(1) Where there are conditions that present a significant risk to the child's health or safety. (2) When the vehicle's engine is running or the vehicle's keys are in the ignition, or both.
(b) A violation of subdivision (a) is an infraction punishable by a fine of one hundred dollars ($100),
Please be kind enough to rate Excellent Service" so that I receive credit for assisting you, it will not cost you anything additional to give me a positive rating, and that is the only way I can receive credit, Thank you for understanding,
If you receive a Customer Satisfaction Survey from JustAnswer, Please rate a 10 as it gives me a greater opportunity to assist other customers on this website and is greatly appreciated,
Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to assist you,
Thank you for your answer. Do I need to do community service? and the fact that the child was sweaty does that give me more punishment?. Thank you so much for your help. Of course I will rate you very well.:)
The section does not differentiate if the child looked sweaty, or looked cool, or anything like that. It just says that if a child under 6 is left unattended, it is a violation of that section and Section 15620(b) has only one fine, and that is $100.
There is no community service, but you cannot afford the $100 fine, the Judge can Order you to attend a community education program on the dangers of leaving children unattended in motor vehicles. But, even if you pay the $100 fine, the Judge can still Order you to attend this educational program. So, just try to convince the Judge that you are aware of the dangers, but you left her there only for 2 minutes to run in and pick up your son.
Here is the full text of subsection (b)
(b) A violation of subdivision (a) is an infraction punishable by a fine of one hundred dollars ($100), except that the court may reduce or waive the fine if the defendant establishes to the satisfaction of the court that he or she is economicallydisadvantaged and the court, instead, refers the defendant to a community education program that includes education on the dangers of leaving young children unattended in motor vehicles, and provides certification of completion of that program. Upon completion of that program, the defendant shall provide that certification to the court. The court may, at its discretion, require any defendant described in this section to attend an education program on the dangers of leaving young children unattended in motor vehicles.
Great. Thanks a lot for your help!
You are very welcome, It was my pleasure to help. I hope that I alleviated your anxiety a little about going to Court. Everything will be fine, I promise you that,
Please do not forget to leave a positive rating because that is the only way I receive credit for assisting you,
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).