Have Legal Questions? Ask a Lawyer Now.
Can a parent make their 19 year old leave home if they don't have any place to go? And if so, can that parent be ordered to pay support to their child until age 21?
Yes, the age of majority in Wisconsin is 18 years old. (Wisconsin Statutes 54.01(20)) This means that as soon as a child turns 18, they are legally considered an adult and the parent's legal obligation to house and support them stops.
With that said, if the child would not voluntarily move out, the parent would have to pursue a formal eviction action through the courts after serving the child with a 30 day written notice to vacate.
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).