Have Legal Questions? Ask a Lawyer Now.
Good evening. I'll be assisting you with your question.
If you are going to be living in Texas, you are obligated to get at Texas DL. Once you move, you have 90 days to get your Texas DL.
However, there is no legal requirement that you have a Texas DL to register a vehicle. In theory, you could register a vehicle in Texas before the 90 days has expired.
If you are in Texas, you will eventually have to register it in Texas. You could, in theory, wait until it becomes expired and then register it in Texas, but you are going to eventually have to do it.
If you are there more than 90 days, you are legally obligated to get a Texas DL.
If you don't, you could get a ticket.
It is less than $500. Typically, around $200.
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).