How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask John Your Own Question

John
John, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 2717
Experience:  Licensed and practicing attorney.
Type Your Legal Question Here...
John is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

New Jersey : After amended complaint(foreclosure) has been

Resolved Question:

New Jersey : After amended complaint(foreclosure) has been filed, when must it be served upon defendant ?
Submitted: 10 months ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  John replied 10 months ago.
Hi, thanks for submitting your question today. My name is XXXXX XXXXX I’m happy to assist you with your question today.

The answer to your question depends on where you are in the litigation - specifically whether you properly served the party with the original complaint or, on the other hand, whether you only filed the original complaint (without serving it on defendant) and then amended it as allowed by the court rules.

If the defendant has not been served original complaint, you have to have the amended complaint served on them within the time stated on your summons issued by the court. If you have already served the defendant the original complaint and exercised your 90-day right to amend without leave of court or you motioned the court for leave of court, you then simply mail the amended complaint to the defendant when you file it with the court; you do not have to execute personal service on them as you would in the original complaint. See NJ Rule of Civ Procedure 4:9-1


So, in short, you are to have it served on them within the time allowed by the summons if you haven't yet served them with the original complaint. Or, you are to mail them a copy of the amended complaint simultaneous with your filing the amended complaint with the court if you have already served the original complaint on the defendant.

I believe this answers your question. However, if you need clarification or have follow-up questions regarding this matter, I will be happy to continue our conversation – simply reply to this message. If you are otherwise satisfied with my response, please leave a positive rating as it is the only way I am able to get credit for my answers. Thank you, XXXXX XXXXX wish you all the best with this matter.

Customer: replied 10 months ago.

Sorry. Plaintiff asked for leave of the court to file an amended complaint. Proposed amended complaint and summary judgment were granted on April 21, 2013. Plaintiff filed Amended Complaint on May 23, 2013. Plaintiff served copy of the filed amended complaint upon defendant(me) by regular mail on Aug 5, 2013. Although there was nothing attached to the proposed or filed amended complaint ..i.e. the mortgage, modification agreement or revised note it seems to me that it was served out of time.

Expert:  John replied 10 months ago.
Hi, Eugene, yes I agree with you for the most part. It was served on you late, but you'd still have to answer from the date it was served on you late. For example, what usually happens when a motion for leave to amend complaint is granted, the plaintiff takes the complaint he attached to the motion directly to the court clerk and has it filed and gives/mails a copy to the defendant the same day. Defendant then has 20 days by court rule to answer the amended complaint.


In this instance, not only did the plaintiff wait a month to file the amended complaint the court allowed him leave to file, but he then waited 2.5 months to give you a copy. This isn't against any of the court rules, unless the judge in his order to allow leave to amend limited the time to file and get you a copy, but your duty to answer the amended complaint is 20 days from the date you are given a copy; not from the date it was filed with the court.

Hope this helps clarify the matter. Let me know if I can assist you further. Thanks
John, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 2717
Experience: Licensed and practicing attorney.
John and 15 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.