How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Lucy, Esq. Your Own Question

Lucy, Esq.
Lucy, Esq., Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 20406
Experience:  Lawyer
26798026
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Lucy, Esq. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

auto accident lawsuit do you file summons first or complaint

Resolved Question:

auto accident lawsuit do you file summons first or complaint injuries involved
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  Lucy, Esq. replied 1 year ago.
Hi,

My name is XXXXX XXXXX I'd be happy to answer your questions today.

The Complaint is the document that is filed to open the case. The Summons is the document that is served on the other party, with the Complaint, to put them on notice that there is a pending lawsuit against them and that he must appear. The Summons is not filed - a proof of service will be filed after the Summons and Complaint are served on the defendant. The Clerk of the Court should be able to give you a Summons when you file the Complaint. Proof of service is usually completed by the Marshall or Sheriff that serves the documents.

If you have any questions or concerns about what I've written, please reply so that I may address them. It's important to me that you are 100% satisfied with the service I provide. Otherwise, please rate my service positively so that I get credit for answering your question. Thank you.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.


extension need for statue can it be done with just extension form

Expert:  Lucy, Esq. replied 1 year ago.
You have the option of filing an Extension form to extend the statute. However, the statute of limitations is NOT extended until the judge actually signs the order. That's important, because filing the form does not automatically mean that you'll have more time to file the Complaint.

Another option might be to file a very simple Complaint that just sets out the facts of the case and a basic overview of the damages that you are seeking. You can then seek leave to amend the Complaint later to add more information. That helps ensure that there is something filed before the statute of limitations expires.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.


when and how do you apply for extension and am do I understand that I can file a simple complaint form that the judge must sign to extend statue

Expert:  Lucy, Esq. replied 1 year ago.
If you file a Complaint, you no longer need to worry about the Statute of Limitations - the Complaint is filed. The judge does not sign a Complaint. If you want to amend the Complaint later, you would file a Motion to Amend and the judge would have to sign that.

You mentioned an extension form - it sounded as if you were saying that you have one. You would need a very, very, very good reason to extend the statute of limitations - such as that you were in the hospital for the past two years and could not have filed the case earlier. The request would have to be made before the statute expired. If you have enough time to request that the statute be extended, you have time to type up and file a Complaint. Here is some general information on extending the statute:
http://www.piercelawnc.com/extensions-of-time-to-file-complaint-durham-lawye/


Here is a sample auto accident Complaint. It says Maryland, but it should give you an idea of the language.
http://www.millerandzois.com/Sample_Auto_Accident_Complaint.html
Lucy, Esq., Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 20406
Experience: Lawyer
Lucy, Esq. and 12 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.


where can I purchase these forms

Expert:  Lucy, Esq. replied 1 year ago.
There are sites such as www.uslegalforms.com or www.legalzoom.com that may have auto accident Complaint forms available for purchase. You can also draft it yourself using examples found online or books found at a local law library.

The Summons is obtained from the clerk of the court.

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.