How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask TexLaw Your Own Question

TexLaw
TexLaw, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 4258
Experience:  Lead trial/International commercial attorney licensed 11 yrs
17219180
Type Your Legal Question Here...
TexLaw is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I filed an answer to a NY Supreme Court complaint that included

Resolved Question:

I filed an answer to a NY Supreme Court complaint that included a counterclaim dated Jan. 18, 2013.
My adversary filed an answer to my counterclaim that included a certificate of service dated February 7, 2013, but filed that answer (the document) with the Court on February 19, 2013.
Is she obligated to file the answer to the counterclaim with the Court?
Was she in default by the delay in answering the counterclaim?
Which date controls: the date of the service in the affidavit, or the date on which she filed with the Clerk of the Court?
How many days does she has to answer a counterclaim? 20 days?
I will not pay unless you refer me to a CPLR section or better, a case.
Thanks
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  TexLaw replied 1 year ago.
Hi,

Thanks for your question.

A counterclaim is counted as a complaint to which Section 3012 of the CPLR applies. See Rupert v. Rupert, 192 A.D.2d 925 (NYS S Ct Ap, 1993).

Pursuant to CPLR 3012 (a) "Service of an answer or reply shall be made within twenty days after service of the pleading to which it responds." Accordingly, it is the service date in the affidavit which counts (if in fact the service was achieved on the date stated in the affidavit). Time runs from time of mailing answer, and not time of its receipt. Jackson & Perkins Co. v Rose Fair, Inc. (1951) 278 App Div 890, 104 NYS2d 892.

Of course, the Answer must also be filed to have any effect and the plaintiff has a duty to file, which they did eventually do in your case.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.


So, there is no time limitation for the plaintiff to file with the court his answer to my counterclaim. Is that correct?

Expert:  TexLaw replied 1 year ago.
It has to be filed:

NY CLS CPLR R 2102 (2013)

R 2102. Filing of papers

(a) Except where otherwise prescribed by law or order of court, papers required to be filed shall be filed with the clerk of the court in which the action is triable. In an action or proceeding in supreme or county court and in a proceeding not brought in a court, papers required to be filed shall be filed with the clerk of the county in which the proceeding is brought.


Failure to file the answer would trigger your right to move for default judgment, but because the answer was served in a timely manner, you don't have an automatic right to the default. The default would be granted if the person did not file the answer along with a statement of reasonable excuse "A defendant who has failed to timely appear or answer the complaint must provide a reasonable excuse for the default and demonstrate a meritorious defense to the action in moving to extend the time to answer or to compel the acceptance of an untimely answer." (see Moriano v Provident NY Bancorp, 71 AD3d 747, 899 N.Y.S.2d 246 [2d Dept. 2010]; Baldwin v Mateogarcia, 57 AD3d 594, 869 N.Y.S.2d 217 [2d Dept. 2008]; [**5] CPLR 5015[a][1]).
TexLaw, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 4258
Experience: Lead trial/International commercial attorney licensed 11 yrs
TexLaw and 9 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Lawyer
TexLaw
TexLaw
Attorney
2718 Satisfied Customers
Lead trial/International commercial attorney licensed 11 yrs