Have Legal Questions? Ask a Lawyer Now.
Hello there. How old are you and how old is your fiance?
Hello again -- that is a large age difference -- In Virginia, statute 18.2-63 prohibits any person from having intercourse with a child between the ages of 13 and 15 and the punishment can be up to 10 years in prison. The only relief with this type of statute is if you were under 18 and less than 3 years older than her. However, under these circumstances, even if she consented to the act with you, it does not matter because the law holds that she is NOT capable of consent. So whether she consented or not is not an issue.
Once the police found out your age, they had no choice but to charge you with this because you are almost twice her age.
In some states, the parties can be married to get the charges dropped, but in VA she must be at least 16 years of age to get married and she would need parental consent to do so. If she were pregnant and 14 or 15 she could also get married but she would need parental consent under those circumstances also.
The only thing you can do is hire a lawyer (or you may be able to get a court appointed lawyer if you do not have the funds for a lawyer) and see if the lawyer can get the DA and police to back off on the higher charges of carnal knowledge to a lower charge of sexual intercourse with a minor because of the fact that you are engaged to marry her. If the mother or father has no rights over her any longer then she would be a ward of the state and you would have to ask a family court judge for permission to marry her.
I wish I could give you some easier or more positive news than this but 14 is very young in the eyes of the law even if she consents and even under these circumstances
You can check surrounding states to see if you can marry her at that age with parental consent (I believe that in Mississippi and Alabama you can marry at that age with parental consent or a judges consent). You would have to have a lawyer handle the details so it is done correctly and you can return to VA to live -- you should keep this in mind as an option and right now talk to a lawyer about these criminal charges and trying to do something to get around them.
I hope that helps
I wish I had better news, as I said
That will not matter -- she will still need to have a judge give permission to marry and if she is pregnant they will probably grant permission to marry -- that is the ONLY way it can happen in VA
I have to step away but will answer any additional questions when I return. MARY
Unless you have no further questions right now
Hello there -- I am back now and I apologize -- I had an emergency (my daughter split her head on the pool and I had to run over to the local hospital).
If she lives in Virginia and that state is her primary residence, then it does not make any difference if your primary residence is in Maryland -- the law where the female lives is the law that is applicable to the case.
Finally, if she were 15 it still would not matter -- in virginia, the age of consent is 16 years old -- meaning that she is not capable of consenting to sexual relations according to the law until she is 16 years old. The only way you can get around this is if she gets pregnant and then you can seek permission from a court or her parents to marry her. Once you are married, the state can no longer prosecute you for this.
If her social worker is willing to talk to you then there are no legal problems with that at all. But, if you are ordered not to contact her at all and you break that rule, they may put you right in jail for violating such an order (if they give you probation and basically give you a "break" because of the circumstances and you do not have to go to jail then they may order that sentence be suspended -- and then if you try to contact her you may end up in jail).
If you really care about this girl, and it seems like you do, then the best thing you can do is step back for the next year and a half and try to stay away so that you are not breaking the law and then when she is 16 you can approach her at that point to begin a relationship under Virginia laws
It will not do her any good if you are sitting in jail for the next 10 years and she needs to understand that also.
You are better off trying to pull together a life for the two of you for the time when she is ready to be engaged and to be with you and the law cannot do anything about it.
You probably are convicted already but if there is a chance that they do not send you to jail and they give you probation then if you violate the probation you can be ordered to go to jail if you break the rules and do not stay away from her as the court will require
It is probably okay to check up on her by asking her social worker and officers of the court if she is okay but if you start trying to make contact with her again before she turns 16 you are not doing yourself any favors and the DA and Judge could order you to jail -- even if you did not receive a jail sentence at first and only received probation. When a person is released on probation it means that they are still under the watchful eye of the probation department . the court can revoke that probation and send the person to jail at anytime if you are found violating an order to stay away from her until she is at least 16 years old.
There isn't a lot more that I can tell you here -- I told you what the law is in the state of Virginia and how to avoid additional problems until she reaches 16 years of age. Whether or not you abide by that will be up to you and your friend.
I notice that you left a poor service rating earlier and I ask that you please change that to at least an "OK" rating (the middle smile face ) so that I will be paid for my time.
Even though you signed regarding what happened they can still offer you a plea deal so that you will not go to jail and part of that plea deal will probably be to stay away from her until she is at least 16. The DA and police can do what they want in any situation and that is probably what they will do here.
No one is ever stupid when it comes to love. You simply have to put yours on hold for a bit and then you should be fine. Nest of Luck with this. MARY
Best of Luck and I would appreciate it if you would change the rating and state that you have changed the rating to OK or GOOD or Excellent service so that customer service will properly credit it to me THANKS
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).