How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dimitry K., Esq. Your Own Question

Dimitry K., Esq.
Dimitry K., Esq., Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 36960
Experience:  Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Dimitry K., Esq. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

we purchased a home in Indianapolis, IN., we had home inspection

Resolved Question:

we purchased a home in Indianapolis, IN., we had home inspection done in May 10th, 2012, and closed on May 23rd, 2012. Most issues of real concern were addressed before and closing. Late August of 2012' we discovered an issue of major concern with a 'rot in the wood cedar siding', along side of bottom of house.
After contacting Inspection Service they tell us this easy fix.
Also we have Mold now with the home,What recourse should we take? We have had mold inspected and tracing source, soon doing Remidiation. I feel rot could be source of leakage of water.
Recourse suggestion, husband has Agent Orange related Parkinsons, I'm highly mold allergic
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  Dimitry K., Esq. replied 1 year ago.
Thank you for your question. Please permit me to assist you with your concerns.

I am sorry to hear that you are in this situation. Do you believe that the sellers, prior to selling yu this home knew or were aware of this issue and that they failed to disclose it to you?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Yes most definitely, and the fact that the inspection company, and realtor we had working for us we later felt she lacked proper care , or concern for her clients.
We have hade more than usual issue to address in numerous issues,
Including a lot of electrical issues, we are be forced to address as well
Expert:  Dimitry K., Esq. replied 1 year ago.

Patti and Norman, thank you for your follow-up.

What you are describing is a potential violation of any home sale, be it a mobile home or a permanent structure. Any seller must disclose all known defects with the property, or defects that reasonably should have been known or found by them when they were maintaining the property. That includes the seller, their broker if he knew, and the inspector is any reasonable inspector would have been able to find this damage when they reviewed the property. As a consequence you could have a potential suit fro fraud and misrepresentation against the seller primarily for the costs associated with facilitating repairs to the property. I would strongly suggest these potential steps:

1. Retaining a new unaffiliated inspector to review the property and then potentially testify on your behalf that the damage was more than likely known and should have been both disclosed and discovered prior to the sale by your own inspector.

2. A real estate attorney who has experience with litigation should be retained and would need to evaluate the forms and documentation you have pertaining to this property.

3. A call to the seller, potentially by the attorney, should be made and demanded that they cover costs from repair. If they refuse to do so after you obtain enough supporting evidence that they should have informed you in this instance, then consider having the attorney file against all the parties listed.

Good luck.

Dimitry K., Esq., Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 36960
Experience: Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.
Dimitry K., Esq. and 5 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Thank you so much, we will follow up
Expert:  Dimitry K., Esq. replied 1 year ago.
You are most welcome, and good luck to you!

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.