How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Sam Your Own Question

Sam
Sam, Attorney at Law
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 22337
Experience:  20 years of experience practicing law.
10707909
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Sam is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I recently had my house washed and the trim painted. The job

Resolved Question:

I recently had my house washed and the trim painted. The job was not performed to satisfaction. While I am not an expert, it appears that the trim was not properly prepared, sanded, caulked or primed, prior to applying paint (knots in the wood and nail heads can be seen). And to the naked eye, looks as though only one coat of paint was applied rather than two. I was quoted for pressure wash of entire house, scrape and sand where needed, prime bare wood areas where needed, caulking any gaps where needs, touch up body of house where needed and apply 2 coast of finish paint on all trim of house.

I am not sure if what I am seeing is the result of product failure, poorly trained staff, little to no prep work don't to trim prior to painting, moisture (we are having an extremely wet summer).....

With the observations listed above, does this job either needs to be re-do or I need to be refunded? I shouldn't see knots or unpainted nail heads or what appears to be trim in dire need of another coat... should I?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  Sam replied 1 year ago.

Welcome and thank you for your question

I am an attorney with more than 25 years of experience and I look forward to providing you true and correct information in this regard.

Please remember, I can only answer what you ask and so if you have follow up questions, please post them here for full and accurate information before rating. If there are no other questions in this regard then I thank you in advance for your positive rating

What you describe here sounds as if the job was not performed correctly. Have you paid this person in full? And this was a written agreement? How long ago, please?

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Yes, I have paid the individual in full.


 


I was provided a quote via email: pressure wash trim , scrape & sand where needed. Prime bare wood areas where needed. Caulk any gaps where needed. Apply 2 coats of finish paint on all trim on house, touch up body of house where needed. (Copied/pasted from email)


 


The work was done just last week.

Expert:  Sam replied 1 year ago.

Hello

 

Thank you.

 

I suggest that if the job is not to your satisfaction as per the terms of your agreement, then you need to immediately let the contractor know.

 

I suggest you need to have him come back and look at the work and allow him an opportunity to get it right

 

With that being said, I suggest you can call or email him and let him know you need an immediate response about this matter

 

In the meantime, it is imperative that you also send him a certified letter with a return receipt requested stating the same thing -

 

In the conversations, email, and letter you will want to state that you will hire someone else to do it correctly and they will be responsible for that cost.

 

Now, you will have the option of doing just that or taking this person to small claims court and getting your money returned.

 

So you also will want photos of the work as it now stands

Sam, Attorney at Law
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 22337
Experience: 20 years of experience practicing law.
Sam and 10 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.
 
 
 
Chat Now With A Lawyer
Sam
Sam
Lawyer
22337 Satisfied Customers
20 years of experience practicing law.