How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask LegalKnowledge Your Own Question

LegalKnowledge
LegalKnowledge, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 15942
Experience:  7+ years handling Legal, Real Estate, Criminal Law, Family Law, Traffic matters.
Type Your Legal Question Here...
LegalKnowledge is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I filed a very broad none specific answer, to a Hoa complaint,

Resolved Question:

I filed a very broad none specific answer, to a Hoa complaint, just basically stating I dispute the information of back fees and want my day in court, I am pro se for now and work on the road and due to constraints I didn't have time to fully research and prepare a explicit respond of all my affirmative defenses, can I now file a motion to amend or supplement, the original answer ??? or now since they filed a motion for summary judgement , just add all my objections and defenses in with my motion to deny or dismiss that motion, because there are real material facts that need to determine by the court.
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  LegalKnowledge replied 1 year ago.
Hi! I will be the professional that will be helping you today. I look forward to providing you with information to help solve your problem.

Good afternoon. Typically, you could have amended the answer and added or plead with specificity, your affirmative defenses. Since the plaintiff has proceeded with summary judgment, they are going to need to show the judge there is no genuine issue of material fact and that the money is owed. If you have a legal basis to explain and show the Judge, as to why summary judgment should not be granted, it should be raised pursuant to Florida Rule 1.510. There should be affidavits submitted and if there is an issue regarding the back fees, why you feel that the amount is not correct. You can also try and assert any other defenses and/or if the hearing has not yet been set for the summary judgment motion, could always try and ask for leave to amend the complaint and see if the Judge will allow it or if they will agree.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Thank you again, I just got off the phone with their law clerk and they are about to request a hearing on their motion the week of july 29th, it should take a few days or more to get a reply and obtain a hearing date, but if I don't request leave to amend answer am I barred from bring them up in a motion to deny summary judgment , I feel confident I can prove a genuine issue exist that could only be fully determined in a court after examination of parties involved in the dispute. And I have my copy of my check that reads in the memo section " For in full, last payment. as well as other supportive issues. I am a partcially disabled US Veteran, are there any such thing as pro bone attorneys I get assist, me??? And if it were you would you move to request leave to amend or simply reply to the summary motion???

Expert:  LegalKnowledge replied 1 year ago.
If they have already filed the motion for summary judgment, you certainly want to respond and raise any genuine issues of material fact, which would result in the case going to trial. You may also want to file for leave to amend, which you would likely need to obtain permission for, from the Judge at this time, based upon where the case currently stands. You can try and call Legal Aid for help and here is a link with information on how to obtain a free pro bono attorney. http://www.floridabar.org/tfb/TFBConsum.nsf/840090C16EEDAF0085256B61000928DC/A99E4C9F07844AC385256FF90073D012
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Thanks I appreciate your replies, last question please, if judge rules there is genuine material facts in dispute , will I beable to actual get my day in court and infront of a jury, or just a bench decision, I realize few cases every go to trial cause most people reach an agreement first, but this entire affair stems from a 150.00 dispute, which came months after the fact my paid in full check was tendered , And though I felt I didn't owe anymore monies, just to stop their attacks , I sent in directly to the Hoa , instead of the law firm, and they subsequently rejected it cause they stated it needed to go to the law firm, instead of forwarding attempted to mail back, yet working out of town I didn't receive until a month or more and at that time they added more fees, and now in the summary judgement we gone from paid in full cash check, a 150.00 dispute they had in hand to approx. 6,000.. reguested in the latest motion, double the complaint amout, I just pray I can get before a jury to argue this matter , ??? WONT ASK ANYTHING ELSE AT THIS TIME...

Expert:  LegalKnowledge replied 1 year ago.
If their motion for summary judgment is denied, then the matter will likely proceed to trial, unless this can be resolved and worked out. For a matter like this, it will likely be a bench trial, not a jury trial and the burden would be on them to show the money owed. It certainly does sound odd that this is all over $150 fee which they could have waived, if everything else was paid in full but if they want to collect it, they are going to have to show it is owed. One of the things which they will need to show is that you were on notice of where the payment needed to be sent and your obligation to do so, was required. I understand you were out of town and the payment was returned, resulting in this additional fees but if you did not know where it needed to be sent and you made payment in good faith, they really should have waived this, to avoid having to go through the court.
LegalKnowledge, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 15942
Experience: 7+ years handling Legal, Real Estate, Criminal Law, Family Law, Traffic matters.
LegalKnowledge and 15 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.