How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Marsha411JD Your Own Question

Marsha411JD
Marsha411JD, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 17313
Experience:  Licensed Atty, 28 yrs exp in the practice of law.
19127644
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Marsha411JD is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I flew to FL for an inspection on a condo we were purchasing.

Resolved Question:

I flew to FL for an inspection on a condo we were purchasing. We have a contract with a $5000 deposit being held in escrow at a title co. The seller did not show up at the inspection and a few hours later texted me that she wasn't selling. What are my options? I sm beside myself
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  Marsha411JD replied 1 year ago.
Hello,

Thank you for the information and your question and I am sorry to read about your situation. Assuming that your contract did not contain any "liquidated damages" clause, you essentially have two options. One is to file suit for specific performance under the contract. In other words, file suit asking the court to force her to sell the property to you. Those suits though are not often successful as the courts don't like to force someone to sell their home. The other option, which is a stronger option, is, if you cannot work this issue out between you, to file suit for breach of contract and ask for damages in the amount of any out of pocket expenses that you have that relates to the property purchase. Of course, you are also entitled to the return of your earnest money.

You might consider working through your Realtor to see if they can put pressure on them to go through with the sale. If not, they might be able to work out a financial settlement to reimburse you for your expenses and time.

Please let me know if you need any clarification. I would be glad to assist you further if I can.
Marsha411JD, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 17313
Experience: Licensed Atty, 28 yrs exp in the practice of law.
Marsha411JD and 17 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Expert:  Marsha411JD replied 1 year ago.
Hello,

I'm sorry but your reply came through without any text, would you please send it again?

Thank you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I am sorry I couldn't type with my kindle using the format you provided. My only question is this is not the sellers home but an investment property and no one is in it right now. I think they may have another buyer. Does this make a difference in any action?
Expert:  Marsha411JD replied 1 year ago.
Thank you for your reply. The legal options are still the same. However, there would be a slightly (but only slightly) better chance that a court would order specific performance. But, these cases can be very protracted and expensive, so that is something to keep in mind. It does help you, in terms of the breach of contract and damages, that she turns around and sells, when she told you it wasn't for sale.

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.
 
 
 

Related Legal Questions