How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Ely Your Own Question

Ely
Ely, Counselor at Law
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 88194
Experience:  Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
7286322
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Ely is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I reside in NC. Would it be crossing the line over my opinion

Resolved Question:

I reside in NC. Would it be crossing the line over my opinion to slander if I said the following statement to a friend of mine:

"We removed our child from this institution (name of institution). At this time, I cannot reveal the reasons why. I strongly admonish you to do the same."

If I stick to this script above and do not waver. Would I be at any risk of slander?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  Ely replied 1 year ago.
Hello friend. My name is XXXXX XXXXX welcome to JustAnswer. Please note: (1) this is general information only, not legal advice, and, (2) there may be a slight delay between your follow ups and my replies.

If I stick to this script above and do not waver. Would I be at any risk of slander?

The answer is no.

Slander is verbal defamation and libel is written defamation - they are two sides of the same (defamation) coin.

In order to recover for defamation, a plaintiff must allege and prove that the defendant made false, defamatory statements of or concerning the plaintiff, which were published to a third person, causing injury to the plaintiff's reputation. Hall v. Publishing Co., 46 N.C.App. 760, 266 S.E.2d 397 (1980).

The elements simply do not exist here. There was no falsity stated about the institution at all. Ergo, this in itself is not actionable as defamation.

I hope this helps and clarifies.

Gentle Reminder: Please use the REPLY button to keep chatting, or RATE my answer when we are finished. Kindly rate my answer as one of the top three faces and then submit, as this is how I get credit for my time with you. Rating my answer the bottom two faces does not give me credit and reflects poorly on me, even if my answer is correct. I work very hard to formulate an informative and honest answer for you; please reciprocate my good faith. (You may always ask follow ups at no charge after rating.)
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Ok, so if the people that I make this statement to, go back to the institution and begin asking questions based on my statements, it would not give the institution the right to question me and/or press charges?


 


Also, if the people I make this statement to tell other people that use this institution, which causes more customers to stop using their business (which would be out of my control, if they tell others), would that place me at risk?


 


Your answers obviously reflect NC correct?

Expert:  Ely replied 1 year ago.
Ok, so if the people that I make this statement to, go back to the institution and begin asking questions based on my statements, it would not give the institution the right to question me and/or press charges?

Absolutely not. First of all, understand that defamation is a CIVIL matter, not criminal. So they cannot 'press charges' even if they wanted to.

Also, let us say you stated "this company feeds the children expired food and abuses the children by hitting them if they cry," then this is different. That is arguably defamation. What you would state is nowhere close.

Nor can they 'question' you in any way. This is not a criminal matter.

Also, if the people I make this statement to tell other people that use this institution, which causes more customers to stop using their business (which would be out of my control, if they tell others), would that place me at risk?

No. Opinion about a business is protected by the First Amendment. People pass judgment on companies all the time in private, and online, such as on yelp.com.

Your answers obviously reflect NC correct?

Correct, the case law used is from North Carolina: Hall v. Publishing Co., 46 N.C.App. 760, 266 S.E.2d 397 (1980).

Gentle Reminder: Please use the REPLY button to keep chatting, or RATE and submit your rating when we are finished.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Thanks Ely. This is extremely important that I am clear on what you are saying, so forgive me if it feels as though I am asking the same questions in different ways.


 


If the people I gave this statement to, go back to the institution and discuss my statements to them, (since the institution will know exactly what I am referring to, due to our experiences with them and things that were said regarding our own child), they still have no grounds to punish us in anyway via slander and/or making a report of any kind?

Expert:  Ely replied 1 year ago.
Friend,

Thanks Ely. This is extremely important that I am clear on what you are saying, so forgive me if it feels as though I am asking the same questions in different ways.

No worries at all. I understand the need for clarity and understanding the nuance. I am here just for this purpose. So do not worry.

If the people I gave this statement to, go back to the institution and discuss my statements to them, (since the institution will know exactly what I am referring to, due to our experiences with them and things that were said regarding our own child), they still have no grounds to punish us in anyway via slander and/or making a report of any kind?

Correct. As we have already discussed, the statement above does not amount to defamation, arguably. Review the elements again:

In order to recover for defamation, a plaintiff must allege and prove that the defendant made false, defamatory statements of or concerning the plaintiff, which were published to a third person, causing injury to the plaintiff's reputation. Hall v. Publishing Co., 46 N.C.App. 760, 266 S.E.2d 397 (1980).

So this is not defamation. Also, defamation is a civil matter, so even if it was (which it is not), then no 'report' of any kind can be made - they'd have to pursue relief in court themselves.

People post scathing reviews all the time online and otherwise. Provided that there is no falsity stated, then it is not defamation. Your statement would be far from it as it does not even state a falsity - the main element of defamation.

Gentle Reminder: Please use the REPLY button to keep chatting, or RATE and submit your rating when we are finished.
Ely, Counselor at Law
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 88194
Experience: Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
Ely and 11 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.