Louisiana law requires that only one party (bride or groom) be present to obtain a marriage license. HOWEVER, the person who applies for the license MUST possess all of the information necessary for both parties. Usually a 3 day waiting period is required, but it may be waived at the Judge's office.
In Calcasieu Parish, marriage Licenses are processed in the Criminal Records Department of the Clerk of the Court. For further information you can contact the Criminal Records Department(NNN) NNN-NNNNext 133.
However, below please find a link to the information necessary for obtaining a marriage license in Cal There is also a link to an on-line application.
Please be advised that a marriage license may be obtained in any parish but the parties must be married in Louisiana. Marriage Licenses are good for 30 days.
I hope you find this information useful.
My goal is to provide you with excellent service – if you feel you have gotten anything less, please reply back, I am happy to address follow-up questions.
Thank you for your business!
Many customers have asked how they can specifically direct a question to me in the future. If you specifically want me to assist you in your legal matter, just put "xavierjd” in the subject line and I will gladly pick up the question as soon as I am on-line.
***Answers given are for informational purposes only and are not meant to replace the advice or assistance of an attorney licensed to practice law in your state. If you need any more information, please do not hesitate to ask. Thank you!