How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Attorney2 Your Own Question

Attorney2
Attorney2, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 3713
Experience:  25 Years In General Practice,
68197583
Type Your Legal Question Here...
Attorney2 is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Can I file a Civil suit against a Bank of America Represenative

Customer Question

Can I file a Civil suit against a Bank of America Represenative
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  Attorney2 replied 1 year ago.
You should not file anything against the individual as she is merely an agent of the lender. The proper cause of action would be against lender.

Have you contacted the corporate office for B of A?



What you have is predatory lending by B of A. If they try to initiate a foreclosure action against you would use the modification papers to ask the court to stop the foreclosure. You should also file a complaint with the FTC and The Department of Justice for predatory lending.

Please take a deep breath and let me know if I can provide you with any additional information regarding this matter.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.


I just recieved a letter from them last week that everything is OK and to disregard the former response not the one I got yesterday. This is the 2nd time they have done this to me. Did a mod in Aug. 2012. Made every payment on time. Call in Feb. due to still showing past due balance. They asked if I had recieve new papers, told them no. They said they made a $5.00 math error. I asked for new amount and started making new payment. Call me in the following Summer said my house was going into foreclosure. It was because I never sent doc. back from Feb. Told them never recieved them. Spent 2 hrs on phone, got to the dept. that sends out the paper work to have them back me up that the only papers they had sent to me were in Aug. that I notorized and sent back. Gave them the # XXXXX that dept. Didn't help. Send mod was null & void. I kept paying my payment because I wasn't going to default on my end of the deal. It has taken 2 years to get that straightened out with a new mod only because I complained to OCC and the bank commissioners. They ruined my credit showed I was 120 + late when I made every payment. Complained about that to OCC. Just got a letter where that was going to be straighten out. I can't believe this nightmare is back. I guess I can call the Charlotte office again but the left hand doen't know what the right hand is doing because they are so big.

Expert:  Attorney2 replied 1 year ago.

This is predatory lending and the reason that we had this massive housing crisis. B of A is known for this type of activity and has paid out massive amounts in settlements.

 

Call Corporate and ask to speak to the President. Brian Moynihan CEO/President Toll Free(NNN) NNN-NNNNTry to get the highest level official you can get on the phone and be persistent.

 

File an FTC complaint outlining what has been happening and the negative impact on your credit. https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

 

and file another complaint with the Department of Justice Mortgage Fraud Division www.ncdoj.gov/Top-Issues/Protecting-Consumers.aspx

 

Please do not hesitate to ask me any additional questions that you may have more. There are more actions that can be taken with regard to this matter.

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.