Have Legal Questions? Ask a Lawyer Now.
Thank you for your question.
Indiana Code states the following:
IC 7.1-5-7-7Illegal possession Sec. 7.
(a) Subject to IC 7.1-5-1-6.5, it is a Class C misdemeanor for a minor to knowingly: (1) possess an alcoholic beverage; (2) consume an alcoholic beverage; or (3) transport an alcoholic beverage on a public highway when not accompanied by at least one (1) of the minor's parents or guardians. (b) If a minor is found to have violated subsection (a) while operating a vehicle, the court may order the minor's driving privileges suspended for up to one (1) year. However, if the minor is less than eighteen (18) years of age, the court shall order the minor's driving privileges suspended for at least sixty (60) days. (c) The court shall deliver any order suspending a minor's driving privileges under this section to the bureau of motor vehicles, which shall suspend the minor's driving privileges under IC 9-24-18-12 for the period ordered by the court.
An Indiana court can grant a maximum punishment of 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.00.
Please let me know if you need more information or want to discuss this matter further.
Please also rate my answer positively so that I might receive credit for my work.
he was not driving but he was passenger in his friend,s car and has offense charges for illegal possession and illegal consumption of alcoholic beverage can court still send him to jail because on the letter they ask for income of parents and to surrender his driving license
If he was not driving, then he shouldn't have to surrender his drivers license. However, these are orders from the Court, so you simply can't ignore them.
They are requesting your income levels to determine the amount of the fine.
You need to go to all the hearings that were scheduled to be there with him and speak up. He needs to inform the court that he was not driving at the time and ask that his drivers license not be suspended.
did you think he will get some kind of probation ,restrictions or classes to attend , he is in university now and he will be attending some kind of classes for alcoholosim
If this is his first offense, then he will likely get probation and a fine.
should he say guilty or not guilty in court
It depends. If they are charging hiim with possession while operating a vehicle, then he should plead not guilty. He was a passenger and should not be threatened with having his license removed.
If they charge him with simple possession, he needs to be "no contest" which is like pleading guilty, but not an outright admission.
Educator, Esq: Follow up question: Is the following
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).