How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask John Legal Your Own Question

John Legal
John Legal, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 4631
Experience:  Over 15 years legal experience.
18914223
Type Your Legal Question Here...
John Legal is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

how do you file a complaint with the state bar?

Resolved Question:

how do you file a complaint with the state bar?
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  John Legal replied 2 years ago.
Welcome! Thank you for your question.

Welcome! Thank you for your question.

You can file a complaint on your own. Here is the website with the form: http://www.calbar.ca.gov/Attorneys/LawyerRegulation/ComplaintForm.aspx

It is as easy as filing out the complaint form and submitting it to the bar association.

Many complaints typically take up to six months to complete an investigation. In particularly complex cases, the investigation could take as long as a year. Many complaints are diverted out of the process along the way with, for example, a referral to mandatory mediation, an agreement requiring the attorney to meet certain conditions, or the attorney's participation in other programs.

I cannot provide you with specific legal advise. I can provide you with general information about the law related to your question. My answer, and any information that you can find online, should not take the place of having a detailed consultation with a lawyer in your area to advise you regarding your specific issues.

When you review my initial response, please remember that I cannot guess what information you already know. I am answering the question(s) posed by you based upon my reading of your post and sometimes I can misunderstand or misinterpret your question. If I did not answer the question you thought you were asking, please rephrase your specific question.

Unfortunately, sometimes the law does not support what you would like it to support. I hope you appreciate that I have given you an accurate understanding of the law. I will not just tell you what you want to hear.

Please remember to only rate my answer when you are 100% satisfied. IF you feel the need to click either "Helped a little" or "I expected more", please stop and reply to me via the REPLY TO EXPERT button with the issue you have. I will be happy to continue further and do everything I can to provide you with the service you seek.

Please show your appreciation for my candor by clicking VERY INFORMATIVE, the SMILEY FACE and positive feedback.

There can also be a delay of an hour or more between my responses to your follow up questions because I may be helping other customers or have stepped away.

Finally, I appreciate repeat customers. You can request me by beginning your question with "Dear XXXXX..."

Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Dear XXXXX:


By filing a complaint, will that just slap the hand of the bankruptcy attorney if they find he misinformed us? We have called around to see if we have just cause for a lawsuit against him and found that attorneys are not want to take on a case against another attorney.

Expert:  John Legal replied 2 years ago.
It will likely just be a hand slap, unless this is something that has been complained about in the past. Generally more serious punishment results if the attorney stole money or did some intentional bad action.

Give me an idea of where the attorney is located and I will search for legal malpractice attorneys in the area.
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

The attorney is located in Fountain Valley, CA


We lost our home when he filed not to contest the lift of stay during our bankruptcy. He told us not to show up at the hearing that it did not matter because B of A was in second position and it was a bluff. We questioned it and reitterated that our desire was to keep our home but he told us not to worry. Our house was sold at auction without us even knowing and we were forced out within 3 months. He admitted he did not know how B of A was able to forclose.

Expert:  John Legal replied 2 years ago.
Wow. That is unfortunate and I am sorry to hear that. It sounds like you where taking the right legal steps to try and do everything you could do. Those missteps give lawyers a bad name. We should be making sure we know what we are talking about before we advise our clients on actions to take or not to take. It is also a general rule of thumb to NEVER allow a hearing to go on without legally appearing.

Here is the only attorney in the area listed as taking legal malpractice cases:

http://www.lawyers.com/California/Fountain-Valley/Donald-S-Sjaarda-A-Professional-Corporation-97578-f.html


Here is a list of attorneys in the LA area that list themselves as taking legal malpractice cases. I would suggest the highest peer review rated attorneys first:

http://www.lawyers.com/Legal-Malpractice/California/Fountain-Valley/law-firms.html?N=0&r=50&sort=0&pn=4&ns=y&d=y
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Dear XXXXX:


Thank you for your reply. As I understand attorneys not wanting to be in court against their peers, going out of the area as in Los Angeles may be the better route. Again, thank you for your advice.

Expert:  John Legal replied 2 years ago.
The ones I sent you have listed legal malpractice as a Practice. I would expect any of those attorneys to represent you in that suit.
John Legal, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 4631
Experience: Over 15 years legal experience.
John Legal and 14 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.
 
 
 

Related Legal Questions

Chat Now With A Lawyer
John Legal
John Legal
Lawyer
4631 Satisfied Customers
Over 15 years legal experience.