How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask TexLaw Your Own Question
TexLaw, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 4430
Experience:  Lead trial/International commercial attorney licensed 11 yrs
Type Your Legal Question Here...
TexLaw is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

What is SOL for judgement issued in state of VA on 2004 for

This answer was rated:

What is SOL for judgement issued in state of VA on 2004 for credit card arbitration procedure in absent of defendent?

Zachary D. Norris :



Unfortunately, Virginia has the longest period of time to enforce their judgments. They can seek enforcement of the judgment within 20 years from the date judgment was entered into.

Below is the code section for Virginia addressing this issue.

2A:14-5. 20 years; judgments
A judgment in any court of record in this state may be revived by proper proceedings or an action at law may be commenced thereon within 20 years next after the date thereof, but not thereafter.

An action may be commenced on a judgment obtained in any other state or country within 20 years next after the date thereof or within the period in which a like action might be brought thereon in that state or country, whichever period is shorter, but not thereafter.

Please let me know if you need further information. If you find my answer acceptable, please rate me positively so I can receive credit for my work.

Best Regards,
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
I have been served with garnishment paper for september 2012, what happens now? do I need to appear? IRS is getting 20% of my pay for back taxes.
You need to appear and you need to present documentary evidence showing that IRS is already taking 20%. You should also take any evidence you have that shows that you cannot afford to pay anything further as it will detriment your ability to pay your household needs.

Virginia law does not allow more than 25% of your wages to be garnished, so at the most, the court should not let them garnish more than 5%, as this would put you at the statutory maximum for garnishment.

Please let me know if you need further information.
TexLaw and 8 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you

Related Legal Questions