what fine would I get when anchored in a boat after dark
Please explain the circumstances. Thanks!
My son was sitting in the boat at midnight, but with no lights on...a jet skier hit him.. he knows the kids..no one was hurt but 6500. damage to boat..our homeowners will cover repairs less deduct...but they insist on a police report. we dont want to go that route, the kid does not have homeowners to cover our repairs...If we file a po;lice report they will try to go after that kids insurance, plus he will get afine for being out after dark,,he offer to pay repair bill after our deductable and any fines my son would recieve due to no lights. so i just want to know what our fine would be thanks
Where the boat was anchored - was that a standard place for mooring or what?
out front of our place about 200ft what does mooring mean
Mooring - is anchoring the boat for a period of time. “Mooring” refers to any permanent structure to which a vessel may be secured. Examples of a mooring include a quay, a wharf, a jetty, a pier, an anchor buoy, a mooring buoy and/or permanent anchor mooring. If properly "moored" then your son didn't have to have the boat lights on - it all depends on the situation.Do people routinely "moor" their boats where your boat was anchored?
its a skiing boat not a big house boat and it can be anchored any where on the lake
Then it usually is docked at night - correct?
well its docked when we arent using it alot of times at night people just take boats out for a moon lite drive...Also a related question can A insurnance adjustor insist on a police report 5 days after the accident? We didnt call the police..no one was hurt and the boats got back to shore safely
OK, I'm now understanding the question.Yes, it's illegal to be anchored without your navigational lights on - but it's only a fine.ACCIDENTS - minimum reportable property damage level is $2,000. If over $2k it must be reported.Yes, the insurance adjuster can demand that you make a formal report of the accident to the police.Navigation lights must be on from sunset to sunrise.Minnesota statute:SL 6. Equipment and Lighting RequirementsThe USCG sets minimum safety standards for vessels and associated equipment. To meet these standards, some of the equipment must be USCG-approved. All boats operating on Minnesota waters must carry and, if required, have in operation, acceptable personal flotation devices (PFDs), fire extinguishers, sounding devices, backfire flame arrestors, ventilationsystems, and navigation lights as required by federal law. In addition, visual distress signals must also be carried onboard in accordance with federal regulations when operating on Lake Superior. If a boat manufacturer installs the safety equipment, it should not be assumed that the vessel is properly equipped at time of purchase. Boat owners are responsible for ensuringthat his or her vessel meets USCG regulations in accordance with vessel size and the waters in which the vessel is being operated. To review the federal requirements for safety equipment, refer to Chapter 2 of this course.On all boats (except a sailboard) regardless of length (including canoes, kayaks and duck boats), there must be a readily accessible USCG-approved Type I, II, III or V wearable PFD (life jacket) for each person on board. Type IV throwable devices, such as buoyant cushions, are no longer acceptable priXXXXX XXXXXfesaving devices. In addition, on boats 16 feet or longer (except canoes and kayaks,) there must also be at least one USCG-approved Type IV throwable device, such as a buoyant cushion or ring buoy immediately available for each boat.Minnesota law requires children less than 10 years of age to wear a life jacket when aboard any boat that is underway (not tied up at a dock or permanent mooring). Exceptions to this wear requirement are:• when in an enclosed cabin or below the top deck on a watercraft• when on an anchored boat that is a platform for swimming or diving• when aboard a charter (passenger) craft with a licensed captain.Navigation lights must be turned on from sunset to sunrise.Boating and Personal Watercraft ViolationsNo Current Vehicle/Trailer Registration 20.00* Expired Boat Registration 20.00*Watercraft w/o proper navigation lights 30.00* Watercraft w/o fire extinguisher 30.00*Watercraft w/ person on gunwale/deck 40.00* Fail to have correct number/sizefloatation devices 30.00*Operate watercraft in designated swim areas 300.00* Waterski w/o observer or mirror or onehour after sunset 50.00*Operate personal watercraft before or after designatedhours 50.00* Juvenile operator or owner permitoperation w/o operator permit 50.00*Failure to wear personal floatation device while operatingpersonal watercraft 30.00* Operate watercraft in careless manner(no accident) 100.00*Operate personal watercraft w/I 150ft of shoreline, dock,swimmer, non-motorized craft, violation of speed andwake100.00*It would appear that the fine would be $100.00 for failing to have the navigational lights on.If you would like any additional information or have more questions please don’t hesitate to ask!Please remember to only rate my answer when you are satisfied with my response. IF you feel the need to click either of the two starts on the left, please STOP and reply to me via the "CONTINUE CONVERSATION" button. Let me know the issue you have and I will be happy to continue further and do everything I can to provide you with the service you seek.If you give any rating below 3 stars then I will not be compensated in any way for helping you today.The "helped a little" is considered a negative.Thank you,Law Pro
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).