How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask NateLawAnswers Your Own Question

NateLawAnswers
NateLawAnswers, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 10589
Experience:  Over 8 years of legal practice.
11217539
Type Your Legal Question Here...
NateLawAnswers is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I was defrauded by a livestock breeder and filed a complaint

Resolved Question:

I was defrauded by a livestock breeder and filed a complaint with the LBHA Association. He was brought before the board, reprimanded, and he agreed to "make amends." He was on the LBHA Board of Directors himself at the time. I have a record of all our email correspondence. What it boils down to is that he sold me unregistered and unregisterable breeding stock, and he knew I was very specifically looking for just the opposite. In fact, since the time of my complaint, his business, Antaya Acres, has been expelled from the association and any animals purchased from them that are not already registered will never be eligible. I invested considerable money and labor in this enterprise, and I would like to know if I have legal recourse.
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  NateLawAnswers replied 2 years ago.
Thank you for your question. Be sure to go ahead and bookmark www.nateanswers.com for future questions.

How much do you estimate you've been defrauded?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.
I paid $700 for two gilts. My son drove all the way to Michigan to pick them up, since the Antayas wanted $500 to meet half-way. I bought 2 portable livestock shelters for $100 each, 2 water tanks (I can find out the price), heaters for the litters I hoped to raise, and provided veterinary care, feed, and housing for them. I had already purchased a registered boar. I purchased an ear tag system for identifying the anticipated piglets and other miscellaneous supplies. The insisted on a deposit to guarantee that I would get gilts from their next litter. That time came and went, and when I inquired, I was told they had "bad luck" and had boar-heavy litters. I requested a refund of my deposit so that I could find another producer, but they refused. I had also had a request in with another breeder, and she refunded my deposit when it was apparent that she could not fulfill the agreement. I didn't even need to ask her! At a minimum, I am out the cost of transportation, feed, labor, and a dream. It would also have to include the cost of the boar, since I wouldn't have purchased him unless I believed I was getting purebred LBH stock. I haven't been able to sell him, either. I guess I would put the figure at $3,000 at a minimum.
Customer: replied 2 years ago.
Relist: Other.
Assign my question to a lawyer w/experience in livestock fraud. The attorney who was working on my question apparently went off-line.
Expert:  NateLawAnswers replied 2 years ago.
I apologize for the delay. I am back online and can help you.

Fraud is fraud, no matter what the situation. This is also breach of contract. If your damages are approximately $3,000.00 you can take this person to small claims court in Michigan, since that is where the defendant is located. The Michigan small claims limit is $3,000.00, so you would be asking the maximum and court costs. If you wanted to demand more, that would have to be done in the trial courts and would require the hiring of an attorney in order to be successful.

The Michigan courts have put together a small claims guide that makes the process rather easy. That can be found here

http://courts.michigan.gov/scao/selfhelp/smallclaims/sc_help.htm

Customer: replied 2 years ago.
Do you feel I would have enough evidence to win a claim?
Expert:  NateLawAnswers replied 2 years ago.
Absolutely. You have your testimony. You have your son's testimony. You have a paper trail of deposits and returns. You have receipts for what you spent as well as the money spent on the boar. It seems you have a very good claim here.
NateLawAnswers, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 10589
Experience: Over 8 years of legal practice.
NateLawAnswers and 3 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.