How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask TexLaw Your Own Question

TexLaw
TexLaw, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 4164
Experience:  Lead trial/International commercial attorney licensed 11 yrs
17219180
Type Your Legal Question Here...
TexLaw is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Re: FL Appeals Case: wrong ‘Standard of Review? I chose De

Resolved Question:

Re: FL Appeals Case: wrong ‘Standard of Review?
I chose De Novo, which I thought meant review the whole case not for abuse of discretion.
A. Standard of Review.

While Appellant (me) suggests that the standard of review should be de novo, the appropriate standard of review for a trial court’s confirmation of an arbitration award is the abuse-of-discretion standard.

URGENT QUESTION SO I CAN FINISH TONIGHT…..

HOW DO WE KNOW IF WE CHOSE THE RIGHT STANDARD OF REVIEW AND IF WE CHOSE WRONG CAN WE CHANGE IT NOW IN THE MIDDLE ON THE REPLY BRIEF, (THE REPLY TO THE ANSWER TO THE Initial)
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Legal
Expert:  Hammer O'Justice replied 2 years ago.
Hello.

What kind of case is it?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

..it is a case stemming from an arbitration award, where the 'defendant' wasn't given 'proper service/notice' for the arbitration hearing.. and having not been present at the hearing argued in court, where the plaintiff argued for 'judgment on the arbitration ruling' for the plaintiff... that defendant's case wasn't heard and the ruling was unfair..

 

The judge basically ruled that because defendant had conversational and email contact w/ the arbitrator, that although misinformation about the hearing scheduling was diseminated in those communications, that in effect, no formal notice by service/mail was necessary...(!?) this in direct violation of Fl code... and the arbitrator cannot provide 'proof of service,' as there was none...

 

.. so the defendant is appealing that decision and wants a new arbitration hearing, based on 'no service/improper notice'. (the remedy proscribed by statute, where 'no/improper service is at issue)..

 

Defendant filed the appeal and plaintiff answered . . and defendant, having been informed that he chose the 'Wrong Standard of Review', needs to know, if, in responding to plaintiff's response to the appeal, if the Standard of Review can be changed ('in mid-stream) , from de Novo to the abuse-of-discretion standard?

Expert:  TexLaw replied 2 years ago.
Hi,

I'd be happy to answer your question. My understanding is that you are in the midst of an appeal from a trial court's confirmation of an arbitration award. You are seeking the overturn of that confirmation based on the fact that the underlying arbitration was not conducted with due process (i.e., you were not give proper notice of the arbitration proceeding). You filed the appeal and asked for review De Novo. However, you have now determined that the appropriate standard of review is the "abuse of discretion" standard. You want to know whether you need to change the standard in your reply brief.

Generally, your statement of the standard in an appellate brief does not designate the standard for the court. The controlling law is what designates the standard, and you are simply supposed to point out what the controlling law is in your brief. Thus, if you get it wrong in your brief, by misstating the standard, this does not actually change the standard that the appellate court must act under. So, technically, you do not have to "change" the standard. However, in your reply brief, you should acknowledge that the standard was wrongly stated in your initial brief, and agree with the plaintiff that the standard is "abuse of discretion" and then redo your analysis of your appellate points under that standard instead of the De Novo standard.

Please let me know if this answers your question.
TexLaw, Attorney
Category: Legal
Satisfied Customers: 4164
Experience: Lead trial/International commercial attorney licensed 11 yrs
TexLaw and 12 other Legal Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

trying to Accept - Great Answer!!

 

..but am repeatedly sent to a page saying 'you don't have access to this page' !?

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Not only did he answer my Michigan divorce question but was also able to help me out with it, too. I have since won my legal case on this matter and thank you so much for it. Lee Michigan
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8436
    JD, BBA Over 25 years legal and business experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    19941
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    8189
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/jespoag/2008-12-17_222355_jessepic.jpg JPEsq's Avatar

    JPEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2132
    Experience as general attorney, in house counsel, SSDI, Family Law attorney, and law professor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/gsenmartin/2008-04-22_214950_me1.jpg Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.'s Avatar

    Guillermo J. Senmartin, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    110
    7+ years of experience handling various legal matters.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PA/PaulmoJD/2013-10-10_195858_JAImage.64x64.jpg Law Educator, Esq.'s Avatar

    Law Educator, Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    31621
    JA Mentor -Attorney Labor/employment, corporate, sports law, admiralty/maritime and civil rights law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    15975
    Multiple jurisdictions, specialize in business/contract disputes, estate creation and administration.